Posted in Book Blast, Giveaway, Historical, Young Adult on September 17, 2014

yakimalisgiftbanner

 Welcome to the Official Blog Tour for Yakimali’s Gift by Linda Covella. This Young Adult Historical Romance takes us back in time to late 18th Century Mexico and California and a spirited adventure for one young girl.

YakimalisGift-Cover 300dpi (1)

touraoutthebooka

 Yakimali’s Gift

It’s 1775 in Mexico, New Spain, and 15-year-old Fernanda Marquina, half Spanish and half Pima Indian, can’t seem to live up to her mother’s expectations or fit into the limited female roles of her culture. A tragic accident sets her on a course for the adventure she longed for but at a greater cost than she could ever have imagined. With her family, Fernanda joins Juan Bautista de Anza’s historic colonization expedition to California. On the arduous four month journey, Fernanda will find not only romance, but she’ll discover truths that will change the way she sees her ancestry, her family, and herself.

Excerpt

Fernanda noticed a young man and girl who’d been listening to Feliciana, the girl smiling, the man scowling. They rode beautiful horses with strong limbs, shiny coats, and silky manes and sat on skillfully tooled saddles. Then she realized they were the ones she’d seen riding past her home, and the memory of the young man’s look rippled through her body.

Fernanda thought he might be eighteen or nineteen. Even though he was dressed casually, it was obvious his clothes were of the highest quality. The majority of men, in spite of the heat, wore either jackets or mantles, capes saved for formal occasions or traveling. This man’s scarlet jacket was bundled and tucked into a saddlebag. The finely woven cotton of his blue shirt, free from grime and sweat, settled softly over the breadth of his shoulders and muscled biceps. The collar lay open, exposing small beads of sweat on his broad chest. The material of his breeches wasn’t the thick, practical plush common in Tubac. Instead, though the fabric appeared durable, it was thinner and showed off the thick muscles of his thighs, the same way his stockings clung to his toned calves.

The girl, close to Luis’s age, was also richly dressed. She wore a white silk rebozo, woven with red flowers and threads of gold and silver. Her skirt, the color of burnished silver, was also silk, and a red ribbon with the same gold and silver embroidery as her shawl decorated the end of her braid.

Why were they on this expedition? Certainly poverty hadn’t prompted them to join. Their looks made it clear they were brother and sister. Where were their parents? As Fernanda passed them, the girl shyly waved to her. Both she and her brother had dark eyes, hers open and friendly, his hard and hostile. She remembered his eyes that had held such a mixture of emotion—surprise, sadness…desire?—she hadn’t been able to look away. Now, they held only anger.

goodreads-badge-add-plus

Amazon     |     Barnes & Noble

 

tourabouttheauthora

Profile Picture_Charlie Cut

Linda Covella’s varied job experience and education (associate degrees in art, business and mechanical drafting & design, a BS degree in Manufacturing Management) have led her down many paths and enriched her life experiences. But one thing she never strayed from is her love of writing.

A writer for over 30 years, her first official publication was a restaurant review column in a local newspaper, and as a freelance writer, she continued to publish numerous articles in a variety of publications. But when she published articles for children’s magazines (“Games and Toys in Ancient Rome” and “Traveling the Tokaido in 17th Century Japan,” in Learning Through History magazine, and “Barry’s Very Grown Up Day” in Zootles magazine), she realized she’d found her niche: writing for children. She wants to share with kids and teens her love of books:  the worlds they open, the things they teach, the feelings they express.

Yakimali’s Gift, a historical novel for young adults published by Astraea Press, and middle grade paranormal The Castle Blues Quake published by Beau Coup Publishing are her first novels.

She’s a member of Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators (SCBWI).

No matter what new paths she may travel down, she sees her writing as a lifelong joy and commitment.

 

You can find Linda at these links:

Linda’s Website     |     Facebook     |     Twitter

Goodreads     |     Pinterest

 

Giveaway

This Giveaway is open Internationally. You must be 13+ to enter.

PRIZES

2 Winners will each receive a $5 Amazon Gift Card

1 Winner will receive a $10 Amazon Gift Card

A Rafflecopter Giveaway

 

This tour is brought to you by

mythtoursbanner

 

Please check out the other hosts on the tour for chances to enter the Giveaway!

9/16/2014        http://thecoverbybritt.blogspot.com/

9/16/2014        http://literarylitter.blogspot.com

9/17/2014        http://thecoverbybritt.blogspot.com/

9/17/2014        http://www.mythicalbooks.blogspot.ro/

9/17/2014        http://www.mmbearcupoftea.com

9/18/2014        http://thecoverbybritt.blogspot.com/

9/18/2014        http://thesaucyreviewer.wordpress.com/

9/19/2014        http://thecoverbybritt.blogspot.com/

9/19/2014        http://anightsdreamofbooks.blogspot.com/

9/20/2014        http://piecesofwhimsy.blogspot.com.au/

9/20/2014        http://thecoverbybritt.blogspot.com/

9/20/2014        http://booksbycenteno.com

9/21/2014        http://thecoverbybritt.blogspot.com/

9/21/2014        http://abookaddictsdelight.tumblr.com

9/21/2014        http://www.mythicalbooks.blogspot.ro/

9/22/2014        http://thecoverbybritt.blogspot.com/

9/23/2014        http://cheshirecatlookingglass.com

9/23/2014        http://mydevotionalthoughts.net

9/24/2014        http://dealsharingaunt.blogspot.com/

9/24/2014        http://dream-reader-dreamer2229.blogspot.com/

9/25/2014        http://kerrificonline.blogspot.com

9/25/2014        http://cindy-vine.blogspot.com/

9/26/2014        http://hardcoverfeedback.blogspot.com/

9/26/2014        http://sallyawolfreads.blogspot.ca/

Posted in Blog tour, fiction, Giveaway, romance, women on September 17, 2014

Now is Our Time Blog Tour Banner

Synopsis

A story of second chance love set between London and San Diego.

Thirteen years ago Jonah Kennedy was one of America’s top tennis players, whose six-foot-three bad-boy California looks won him hordes of female admirers.

Thirteen years ago Claire Jackson, a fiery, aspiring artist from London, was the woman who stole his heart.

But the two held a secret which tore them apart and sent Claire running back to England.

They tried to move on. Claire married, had a child and became a successful TV personality. Jonah married, had a child and settled for life on the road.

Thirteen years later and both divorced, their paths cross again. Their attraction is even deeper – they feel destined to be together. Claire’s jealous ex, however, has other plans.

Can Claire and Jonah hold on to their second chance at love or will their past secret haunt them for ever? After all, thirteen is only lucky for some….

Meet the Author

Jo qualified as a lawyer before moving into journalism, working for the BBC and reporting and presenting for ITV on holiday, consumer and current affairs programs. She writes for several national UK newspapers including the Daily Mail, the Telegraph, the Guardian and the Express and was the anonymous author of the Independent’s hit column: Diary of a Primary School Mum. Now is our Time is her third novel.

Social Links

FB button FINALtwitter button FinalWebsite buttonGoodreadsFINAL

Goodreads Button with Shadow

Buy the Book

Now Is Our Time

Amazon FinalAmazon UK Final

Kessel Duo

Amazon FinalAmazon UK Final

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow the Tour

September 15

Spreading The word with Denise&Donna | Books A to Z

September 16

Mad love book blog | Lisa’s book reviews | My Life, Loves and Passion

September 17

The Book Enthusiast | StoreyBook Reviews

September 18

XterraWeb | All Booked Out

September 19

Jeni’s Bookshelf | Wine Relaxation and My Kindle | A One-click Addict’s Book Blog

September 22

Cruising Susan Book Reviews | Crystal’s Sweet Reads and Reviews

September 23

RAMBLINGS FROM BENEATH THE SHEETS | Deal Sharing Aunt

September 24

Crawling Over the Pages | Author Sandra Love | Coffee Talk Writers

September 25

Mich’s Book Reviews | Cheekypee reads and reviews

September 26

Undercover Book Reviews | Debra Presley | Stephanie’s Book Reports | Underneath the Covers

Now is our time blog tour button

promotionsbutton with TRIM
Posted in Book Blast, excerpt, fiction, Giveaway, romance, Trailer, women on September 16, 2014

 

Risking It All
by JM Stewart
Series: A Morgan Family Romance, #1
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Berkley Intermix
Release Date: September 16, 2014

 

 

Love requires a leap of faith…

She’s everything he wants…

For years, Kyle Morgan has hidden his true feelings from the gorgeous girl next door that he grew up loving and protecting. But when she shows up at his apartment in the middle of the night, desperately needing comfort and support, his iron will begins to waver…

…and the only thing he can’t bear to lose.

Kyle was always the big brother Cecelia Anton never had, but suddenly her goofy best friend has become a sexy man she can’t keep her thoughts—or hands—off of. As their deep connection melts into uncontrollable desire, Ceci is willing to put it all on the line for a shot at true love. Only Kyle is keeping a terrible secret about Ceci’s past that could destroy not only their lifelong friendship but their happily-ever-after…

For a moment, she stared, her eyes searching his, then she straightened her shoulders. “Why’d you kiss me?”

Panic curled through him, sending his pulse pounding into his rib cage. Damn. Why hadn’t he expected her to ask that? But he couldn’t answer it. To do so would be tempting fate. An intense need for distance seized him. Half afraid he’d lose his mind and do something else he’d regret, like pull her into his arms and show her why he’d kissed her, he shot to his feet.

He flashed her a smile he knew had to look as phony as it felt. “Headache’s better. Thanks.”

He didn’t wait for a response but strode toward the yard.

“I need to know, Kyle.”

His answer sat on the tip of his tongue, but the voice of reason sounded in his head. Don’t say it. Whatever you do, do not say it. Just keep walking.

Her soft footsteps sounded behind him. “You can’t just do something like that and walk away and expect me not to question it. You blow hot and cold, do you know that? I know desire when I see it, yet you just keep walking away.”

“Ever think maybe I wanted to kiss you?” The words left his mouth on a hoarse whisper, and God help him, a desperate need to see her eyes seized him. He turned to find her directly behind him. She stared for a fraction of a second too long, heat and curiosity blazed in her eyes. A heartbeat later, a light blush stole into her cheeks, but she didn’t move, didn’t say a word.

Everything inside of him ground to a halt, his mind twisting off in another direction. I’ll be damned. If ever he needed a confirmation, there it was. Whatever had happened between them was definitely not one-sided.

 

 

 

 

 

JM is the author of passionate, heartfelt contemporary romance. She’s a wife, a mother, a spiritualist, and lover of puppies, and happily addicted to coffee and chocolate. She lives in the rainy Pacific Northwest with her husband, two sons, and two very spoiled dogs. She’s a hopeless romantic who believes everybody should have their happily-ever-after and has been devouring romance novels for as long as she can remember. Writing them has become her obsession.

Facebook Fan Page ~ Facebook Friend Page ~ Twitter ~ Amazon ~ Goodreads

Google + ~ Pinterest ~ Website ~ Blog

eMail: authorjmstewart@gmail.com

Sign Up for my Newsletter

 

JM is looking for Street Team members who are active on Facebook and Twitter. Is this you? 
Want to be one of Jo’s Jewels? 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

Posted in 4 paws, Blog tour, Cozy, mystery on September 15, 2014

deep in death large banner640

 

Synopsis

Running “errands” for her mob-boss employer, Joey “The Knife” Manetto, often ends with Shelby in trouble, making her cautious about continuing her association with him. Instead, she focuses on a new client who hires Shelby to find her missing mother. What seems like a routine case turns into something more sinister and deadly than she ever imagined.

In the meantime, Uncle Joey has summoned Shelby to his office, where she runs into her former nemesis. Shelby inadvertently hears something that makes her fear for the lives of Uncle Joey and his hit-man, Ramos. This time, Uncle Joey is not sure he wants to involve Shelby in something he knows could get her killed. Keeping Shelby’s involvement to a minimum has disastrous results, sending Shelby on a dangerous path. As her investigation unfolds, Shelby finds death at every turn, and soon realizes she is in over her head. Can she escape from danger in time? Or will she find herself deep in death?

goodreads-badge-add-plus

Amazon    B&N

Trailer

Review

This is another great book in this series! There were several surprises in this book, none that I saw coming….well maybe one of them once I knew who they were looking for and I even tried to throw another character “under the bus” but he was a good guy. But it seemed very plausible that he could have been in on the danger with the “bad guy”.

I like how Chris (Shelby’s husband) seems to be somewhat ok with her working for the mob and getting herself into all sorts of trouble.  Well maybe not really that ok with it, but at least he doesn’t try to be all macho and tell her she can’t do it.  I do wonder about Shelby’s attraction to Ramos and if that will cause any problems in her marriage.  She loves Chris and won’t act on anything, but I can understand enjoying the eye candy no matter how much you love your spouse!

I started this series about 4 books in and have book 1 that explains how Shelby came to read minds, just haven’t read it yet. But each book does a pretty good job of explaining it and making you feel like you know all the characters and aren’t missing anything.

We give this 4 paws up!

pawprintpawprintpawprintpawprint

About This Author

colleen_helme_smallAs the author of the Shelby Nichols Adventure Series, Colleen is often asked if Shelby Nichols is her alter-ego. “Definitely,” she says. “Shelby is the epitome of everything I wish I dared to be.” Known for her laugh since she was a kid, Colleen has always tried to find the humor in every situation and continues to enjoy writing about Shelby’s adventures. “I love getting Shelby into trouble…I just don’t always know how to get her out of it!” Colleen lives in the Rocky Mountains with her family. Besides writing, she loves a good book, biking, hiking, and playing board and card games with family and friends. She loves to connect with readers and admits that fans of the series keep her writing.

 Website * Facebook * Shelby’s website * Twitter * Goodreads

 

 

 

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

great escape button160

Tour Participants

September 1 – Shelley’s Book Case – Review
September 2 – Cozy Up With Kathy – Interview
September 3 – readalot – Review
September 4 – Kelly P’s Blog – Interview
September 5 – Darla King Series – Review
September 6 – Brooke Blogs -Interview
September 7 – off
September 8 – rantin’ ravin’ and reading – Review
September 9 – Community Bookstop – Review
September 10 – Books-n-Kisses – Review
September 11 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – Spotlight
September 12 – 3 Partners in Shopping, Nana, Mommy, & Sissy, Too! – Interview
September 13 – off
September 14 – Dalene’s Book Reviews – Review
September 15 – StoreyBook Reviews – Review

Posted in Book Blast, excerpt, New Adult on September 15, 2014

 

 

Someday, My Forever  
Carrie Fox
Genre: New Adult
25k words

Synopsis

Rae Ann Bailey has focused on her family and education for her entire life. Now a college freshman, she’s looking forward to everything that being in college entails. She has always thought about what everyone wants and making them happy, so she’s relieved to be out on her own and making her own decisions.

Sam Jenks is a junior, and a vital part of the college rowing team. Studying and getting his team to the national championships are his only priorities. He doesn’t have the time or the desire for a girlfriend.

When Sam and Rae Ann meet, they have an instant connection that neither of them can deny. As they get closer, his commitment to the rowing team strains their new relationship, and Rae Ann has to decide if she can handle rowing being number one. Just when it seems that things are going well, someone from Sam’s past threatens to tear them apart. Can Sam and Rae Ann move past their obstacles and decide that their forever is worth it?

goodreads-badge-add-plus

amazon buyamazon uk

Excerpt

Several minutes later, Heidi breezed back inside and smiled widely.  “Let’s celebrate our freedom!”, she exclaimed.

I shot her a confused look and she laughed.

“Rae Ann, you and I are at the UW, free of parents…it’s time to cut loose!”

Gib smiled at Heidi.  “It’s good to see you again.”  He looked over quickly and waved me away.  “Go on, she won’t take no for an answer.”

Sighing resignedly, I followed her onto the elevator, which quickly rose to the 6th floor.  We made our way down our way down the hall in a comfortable silence.  I knew the night ahead would be an adventure.

 

About the Author

Carrie Fox has been an avid reader since childhood.  Since discovering the Indie author community, she has become a blogger and joined street teams for established authors.  Someday, My Forever is her first published work.

Facebook Page     Goodreads Link

Posted in Book Blast, Fantasy, Giveaway, Urban on September 14, 2014

 photo VampireSecrets_zps14983552.jpg

 photo Vampire-Secrets-web-small_zpsfd754cf9.jpg

Title: Vampire Secrets (Blood and Snow Season Two)

Author: RaShelle Workman

Genre: Urban Fantasy (Reinvented Fairytale)

Release Date: September 14, 2014

Publisher: Polished Pen Press Corporation

Cover by Andrea Garcia

 

~ Synopsis ~

 

Blood and Snow Season Two Book 2 ~ Vampire Secrets

A dream is a wish your heart makes… It’s been a month since Jasmine agreed to the wish that would keep Laeddin safe. By all accounts she should be happy. She’s attending high school, hanging out with friends, and spending time with Laeddin. but she isn’t. Ever since the sorceress ripped away a part of her, she hasn’t felt like herself. To make matters worse, the man with red eyes, the one that haunted her dreams, is appearing in real life. And demonic creatures keep showing up in Salem. The question on both counts is why? Jasmine must figure out who the man is and what the creatures want. Thankfully, she isn’t alone. Laeddin, Peter, Zoe, and some friends from the mansion next door will help. And then there’s the sorceress. she’s using what she took from Jasmine to inflict havoc on the human realm as well as other realms.

 

Click Goodreads photo GoodreadsClick_zps920a555c.jpg

 

 photo secrets13_zpsecd7fc8a.jpg

Buy the Book

Amazon Black Button Logo photo images-1_zps246a6b7d.jpeg

Barnes and Noble Button Logo photo c2296f_306728afb2274f4d8ff8f4c2d7ae8dcf_zps5af225a4.png

 photo button-smashwords_zps6fbfa39a.jpg
 photo secretsad1_zpsdd1dd848.jpg

About the Author

Rashelle Workman photo 6-7-14me2_zps37bfac11.jpg RaShelle Workman is the author of the popular Blood and Snow series. She loves to reinvent fairy tales teens and adults can sink their teeth into. Her stories include kissing, vampires, werewolves, witches, aliens, and more kissing. Her books: Sleeping Roses, Exiled, Beguiled, and Dovetailed have foreign rights contracts with a Turkish publisher. RaShelle is also one of the co-founders of Indie Recon LIVE, a self publishing conference that will debut October 10-11, 2014 in Sandy, Utah.

 

 

Facebook | Twitter | Blog | Website | Pinterest

 

 

Her books include

Sleeping Roses * Across the Ages * Exiled * Beguiled * Dovetailed * Blood and Snow (1-12) 

The Cindy Chronicles * Vampire Lies (Blood and Snow Season 2) * A Beauty So Beastly

Short stories

Cindy Witch * The Hunter’s Tale * Gabriel * After the Kiss * Zaren’s Travels

 

Visit her website and sign up for RaShelle’s EXCLUSIVE mailing list. You’ll be automatically entered to win a Paperback copy of Blood and Snow volumes 1-4.

 

 photo secrets14_zpsf7e62d9c.jpg

Giveaway

 

$25.00 Paypal Cash

 

5 Ebooks of Vampire Lies by RaShelle Workman

 

 photo LASTourButtonClicktoFollowTour_zps6af41413.jpg

Posted in Giveaway, romance, Spotlight, Trailer on September 13, 2014

Rewind to You Book Trailer

 

 

Trailer Reveal Giveaway Details

$40 Gift Card to River Street Sweets

River Sweet Treats

 

2 $10 iTunes Gift Cards

iTunesGiftCard10

 

 

 

 

Ends 9/31/14

Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an iTunes Gift Code or River Street Sweets Gift Card. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Rewind to You CoverSynopsis

One last summer before college on beautiful Tybee Island is supposed to help Sienna forget. But how can she? This is where her family spent every summer before everything changed, before the world as she knew it was ripped away.

But the past isn’t easily left behind. Especially when Sienna keeps having episodes that take her back to the night she wants to forget. Even when she meets the mysterious Austin Dobbs, the guy with the intense blue eyes, athlete’s body, and weakness for pralines who scooped her out of trouble when she blacked out on River Street.

When she’s with Austin, Sienna feels a whole new world opening up to her. Austin has secrets, and she has history. But caught between the past and the future, Sienna can still choose what happens now…

Amazon * Barnes & Noble * Kobo

Praise for the Book

“Johnston’s debut spotlights romance and familial relationships, including themes like grief and self-sacrifice. It’s an ideal story for readers looking for a deep-rooted YA love story with the emotional ups and downs and poignancy of a Nicholas Sparks contemporary. There’s also a touch of wit and a sigh-worthy hero – a definite on your TBR list.” – RT Book Reviews

“This is contemporary YA fiction at its best! –Kay Lynn Mangum, author of The Secret Journal of Brett Colton

Rewind to You will steal your hear away.” –Kelly Nelson, author of The Keeper’s Saga

Author Laura Johnston

laura johnstonLaura Johnston lives in Utah with her husband and two children. Growing up with five siblings, a few horses, peach trees, beehives and gardens, she developed an active imagination and always loved a good story. She fell in love with the young adult genre both through her experience in high school as well as her job later as a high school teacher. Laura enjoys running, playing tennis, sewing, traveling, writing, and above all, spending time with her husband and kids. REWIND TO YOU is her debut novel.

Website * Twitter * Facebook

Posted in Book Blast, mystery, Spotlight on September 12, 2014

 photo LondonCalling_zpsf66accb5.jpg
london calling

Title: London Calling

Genre: Police Procedural/Adult

Author: James Craig

Publish Date: Sept 9, 2014

Publisher: HarperCollins

Synopsis


Edgar Carlton is rich, handsome, and in line to be the next Prime Minister. But his rise to the top takes a steep turn
downwards when somebody begins murdering alumni of the 1984 Merrion Club, an exclusive Cambridge University
society to which he belongs. Bullheaded Inspector Carlyle is tasked with handling this delicate case and, to discover the killer, he must question all the members of the 1984 Merrion Club. But finding the truth proves difficult when this group of powerful men is so
determined to let events of the past remain in the dark…

Goodreads

 

Buy the Book

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | iBooks | HarperCollins

About the Author

JAMES CRAIG has worked in London as a journalist and as a consultant for almost thirty years. He lives in Covent Garden with his wife and daughter.

Website and Twitter

 

Giveaway

5 BlueFire Downloads

Follow the Tour

 photo LASTourButtonClick_zps41b87fd9.jpg

 

Posted in 3 1/2 paws, Blog tour, excerpt, fiction, Giveaway on September 11, 2014

Meet Me in Barcelona banner

Title: Meet Me in Barcelona
Author: Mary Carter
Publisher: Kensington
Pages: 352
Genre: Mainstream fiction
Format: Paperback/Kindle/MP3 CD, Audiobook, MP3 Audo, Unabridged

Purchase at AMAZON

A surprise trip to Barcelona with her boyfriend, Jake, seems like the perfect antidote to Grace Sawyer’s current woes. The city is dazzling and unpredictable, but the biggest surprise for Grace is discovering who arranged and paid for the vacation.

Carrie Ann wasn’t just Grace’s foster sister. Clever, pretty, and mercurial, she was her best friend—until everything went terribly wrong. Now, as she flees an abusive marriage, Carrie Ann has turned to the one person she hopes will come through for her. Despite her initial misgivings, Grace wants to help. But then Carrie Ann and Jake both go missing. Stunned and confused, Grace begins to realize how much of herself she’s kept from Jake—and how much of Carrie Ann she never understood. Soon Grace is baited into following a trail of scant clues across Spain, determined to find the truth, even if she must revisit her troubled past to do it.

Mary Carter’s intriguing novel delves into the complexities of childhood bonds, the corrosive weight of guilt and blame, and all the ways we try—and often fail—to truly know the ones we love.

goodreads-badge-add-plus

Excerpt

Carrie Ann. The words felt like two gunshots to the chest. Just hearing that name come out of her mother’s mouth made Grace’s heart start tripping. She almost shot out of her chair. “I’m Grace,” she said. “Gracie Ann.” Her voice cracked. “Dad?” she said.

“She’s confused, honey. The past and the present, it’s just one big, ugly glob.” Pinpricks of shame began forming at the base of Grace’s spine.

“I’m not confused,” Jody said. “Carrie Ann came to visit me.”

“My God,” Grace said. This time she did shoot out of her chair. Carrie Ann was the only girl foster child the Sawyers had ever taken in. At first she had been like a sister to Grace.

“Who is she married to now?” Jody said. “I can’t remember.”

“Pay no attention to her, Gracie,” Jim said.

“Why can’t I remember?” Jody pressed on her temples with her index fingers, as if she could squeeze the memory out of her head.

Grace took a step toward her mother. “When did she come and visit you, Mom?”
“Grace, I told you she didn’t,” Jim said. “Don’t egg your mother on.”

“I’m not egging her on, Dad, but if Carrie Ann was here, I want to know about it.”

Her father whacked his newspaper on the side of his chair. “I told you she wasn’t! And I should know. I’ve been sitting right here!”

“She’s still such a pretty girl,” Jody said. “She asked about you, Grace. She asked me all sorts of questions about you.”

Jim got up and threw up his arms. “She’s out of her mind!” He began to pace.

“Dad,” Grace said. “Hush.” Her mother suddenly became very still, which meant she was listening. Grace took her father by his arm and led him back to his chair.

“I’m sorry. She won’t remember me saying it.”

“That’s not the point.”

“I can’t help it. Carrie Ann this – Carrie Ann that. I thought we’d put that nuisance behind us for once and for all. Is this what it comes to? Reliving your worst nightmare?”

“I’ve never heard you speak so harshly about Carrie Ann,” Grace said. Her mom was the one who used to say the worst things about Carrie Ann. She said Carrie Ann was evil. She said Carrie Ann was a curse that would follow all of them to their graves. Once she even said there wasn’t enough Lysol in the world to get rid of that stain. And each insult cut into Grace like her mother was saying it about her. Her sister. Of sorts. Her own Dickens-like drama.  Carrie Ann was the best thing that had ever happened to Grace, and she was the worst. She’d been out of their lives for nearly fifteen years. And Grace had spent every one of them trying, and failing, to put the past behind her. She turned to her father.

“Why didn’t you tell me?”

“Tell you what?”

“That Mom’s been talking about her.”

“Because I don’t want to dredge up all that nonsense. It’s her damn medication. I keep telling the doctor it’s making her worse, and he won’t listen to me.” Her father slammed his fist on the arm of the chair. “These people think just because we’re old that we’re stupid. She wouldn’t be so forgetful if she cut down on some of those pills. How do I know that? Because she’s my wife.  Because I’ve been married to this woman for forty-four years. You know what he said to me?”

“Who?”

“That snot-nosed doctor, that’s who!”

“What did he say?”

“Put me in my place. In front of my wife. ‘You’re a psychotherapist, correct? Not a psychiatrist? You don’t prescribe medication?’ That’s what the snot-nosed so-called doctor actually said to me. Can you believe that? Some twenty-year-old who just started wiping his own ass. I’m telling you she’s on too many pills! Makes her soupy. He won’t listen to me!”

“It’s okay, Dad. Calm down. It’s okay.”

“I can’t bear hearing her talk about Carrie Ann.  Your mother’s the one who told us never to mention Carrie Anne’s name again.”

Forbid us. Forbid us to ever mention her name again. “I know, Dad. I’ll talk to the doctor. Calm down.”

“I always wanted to go to Spain,” Jody said. She turned off the television and patted the side of the bed. So she’d heard and understood the conversation. God, the brain was a mysterious thing.

Grace went over and sat down. “You never told me that.”

“I would hardly share that with a stranger.”

I’m your daughter! She wanted to shout. But her mother couldn’t help it.

“Just keep talking,” her father said. “At least she’s not dredging up ghosts, or drooling over naked stud muffins.”

And now  Grace couldn’t believe her father had just said “naked stud muffins.” Maybe getting away for a bit wasn’t such a bad idea. Grace turned back to her mother. “Why did you always want to go to Spain?”

“My mother went to Spain. All by herself. When she was in her seventies.”

“I know,” Grace said. It had been just after Grace’s grandfather had died. Her grandparents were supposed to take the trip together. Everyone thought Annette Jennings would cancel the trip. Instead, she buried her husband and packed her bags. Little Annette who had never been outside of her home state. Grace had had many conversations with her grandmother about that trip. She was proud of her too.

“It was really something,” Jim said. “Because in those days seventy wasn’t the new fifty or whatever the kids say today. Seventy was seventy.”

“Tell me about it,” Grace said.

Jody Sawyer straightened up, and her eyes seemed to take in more light. “Well, it’s not like it is now. Women didn’t travel alone back then. Wasn’t that brave? My mother sent me a postcard from Madrid of a beautiful tango dancer in a red dress. The dress was made of actual material—beautiful red silk right on the postcard. I’ll never forget it. She’d only written one sentence on the back. ‘Robert would’ve loved the landing.’ My father was very picking with landings and always impressed when the pilot pulled off a smooth one. Anyway. As soon as I got that postcard I knew my mother was going to be all right. ‘Robert would have loved the landing.’ After she died I spent hours just touching that silky red dress with the tips of my fingers and imagining my mother dancing in the streets of Spain.”

Jody Sawyer looked up and swayed her upper body slightly as if watching her faraway self dance. Then she looked down at her hands, twisting the bed sheet. “Look how ugly and wrinkled I am now.”

“You’re not ugly and wrinkled, Mom. You’re beautiful.”

“I wish I had that postcard now.” Her mother looked up into space. “I lost it.”

Grace hesitated. Did she, or didn’t she?  Grace opened the bedside drawer and took out the postcard. Her mother was right. The dress was silky. Grace handed it to her mother and watched her eyes light up. Next her mother gently outlined the edge of the dancer’s dress with the trembling tip of her right index finger. Her fingernail was misshapen, the peach paint flaking. Grace would have to see if they could bring in a manicurist.

Jody looked at Grace, her eyes clear and bright. “Gracie Ann you have to go. Film everything. I’m dying to see Barcelona through you.” Grace must have looked stricken, for her mother laughed and then put her hand over her heart. “Sorry, no pun intended.” Like antennas being manipulated for a clearer signal, sometimes her mother tuned in perfectly. Jody Sawyer laughed again, and Grace couldn’t help but laugh with her.

“Mom.”

“Make me feel like I’m there,” Jody said, closing her eyes. “Help me shut out this hospice. Let me see beautiful Barcelona.” She took Grace’s hand and held it. “Do it for me. I’ll feel like I’m with you. Bring a camera. And your guitar,” she added. “You never know.” When Grace still didn’t answer, her mother opened her eyes, and lifted Grace’s chin up with her hand like she used to do when Grace was a child. “Be brave, Gracie Ann. Just like my mother.”

“Like my mother too,” Grace whispered back.

Review

I have mixed emotions on the book. At the beginning I was wondering where the book was going, it felt like it was all over the place. Then about page 175 (maybe a bit before) the book really pulled me in and I did not want to put the book down….but I was falling asleep no matter how much I was fighting staying awake to keep reading!

To me, Grace was a weaker character, at least in the beginning of the book until about page 175. She was in a relationship with Jake for 3 years but there was so much he didn’t know about her past. Perhaps she was trying to avoid the memories?

Carrie Ann was definitely a bit psycho. She may have had good intentions for her actions but the way she went about it was so wrong.

I did guess a few things, or rather was suspicious, of a character or two. I knew something wasn’t right but didn’t know what until near the end of the book.

I didn’t remember what sort of book this was when I signed up for the blog tour, but it is definitely something of a psychological thriller even though it is not classified that way.

I give it 3 1/2 paws

pawprintpawprintpawprinthalfpaw

About the Author

Mary CarterMary Carter is a freelance writer and novelist. Meet Me in Barcelona is her eighth novel. Her other works include: Three Months in Florence, The Things I Do For You, The Pub Across the Pond, My Sister’s Voice, Sunnyside Blues, She’ll Take It, and Accidentally Engaged. In addition to her novels she has written six novellas: Return to Hampton Beach in the anthology, Summer Days, A Southern Christmas in the upcoming 2014 anthology Our First Christmas, A Kiss Before Midnight in the anthology, You’re Still the One, A Very Maui Christmas in the New York Times best selling anthology Holiday Magic, and The Honeymoon House in the New York Times best selling anthology Almost Home. Mary currently lives in Chicago, IL with a demanding labradoodle. She wishes she could thank her gorgeous husband, but she doesn’t have one. In addition to writing she leads writing workshops.

Website * Writing Workshop * Facebook * Twitter * More of Mary’s Books

 

 

 

 

Giveaway

Mary Carter is giving away 3 books including My Sister’s Voice, Three Months in Venice and Sunnyside Blues!

Terms & Conditions:

  • By entering the giveaway, you are confirming you are at least 18 years old.
  • One winner will be chosen via Rafflecopter to receive one set of three books by Mary Carter.
  • This giveaway begins August 4 and ends on October 31.
  • Winners will be contacted via email on Monday, November 3.
  • Winner has 48 hours to reply.

Good luck everyone!

ENTER TO WIN!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Posted in Blog tour, fiction, Guest Post, Thriller on September 11, 2014

Today author Mary Carter joins us with her thoughts on how she came to write the story.  It is definitely a very intriguing story (review will be in another post!) and one to check out.  A psychological thriller to me even though it is classified as general fiction!

Meet Me in Barcelona 2

 

It’s hard to believe it’s been over a decade since my trip to Spain. I was living in New York City, my first novel had just been published, and a friend from Seattle decided to celebrate her thirtieth birthday in Barcelona. I was thrilled to be invited. At the time, my novel, She’ll Take It, had been optioned by Paramount Pictures for a possible television series. The week I was in Spain, they were pitching it to Showtime. I remember sitting at an outdoor café in La Rambla, surrounded by street performers, tango music, and friends. I had a fat glass of red wine, and tapas on the way. The city was electric. My future was uncertain, but full of possibilities.

Ten girls went on that trip, but only nine came back. Just kidding. We all made it out alive. But I was a little beaten up. I can’t even remember how many of us shared a flat in La Rambla, I want to say there were at least eight girls. And most of the time, I felt like the odd girl out. My birthday-girl friend kind of turned into a mean girl. I hadn’t met her other friends, and one in particular had a personality that I simply clashed with. She was very loud, (very American?) and seemed to not only realize that she made me uncomfortable, but capitalized on it, wanting to force me into admitting that she was making me uncomfortable. Things just got worse when my birthday-girl friend said: “I knew you and Christine would either love each other or hate each other. You’re so much alike.” (Names have been changed). I was truly horrified. To this day I know I was nothing like Christine. At yet another gathering, my friend was going around the table and saying why she picked all of us to join her on this birthday celebration. When she got to me she said: “I picked Mary because she’s a loudmouth.” Again, I was horrified. And completely perplexed. I’m not a loudmouth. On yet another occasion, I was having a good time, getting tipsy, and talking with the owner of a café, who loved being surrounded by young, American women. I was trying out my Spanish with him, and he was encouraging it. Christine suddenly called me out—“Quit trying to speak Spanish when you don’t really know it.” Again, in front of everyone. I can have a quick temper, but I was too flabbergasted to even respond. The world of women I was with was suddenly as foreign to me as the country, and here I was a grown woman, dealing with not just one, but two “mean girls”. WTF?

Our vacationing styles differed greatly. It was difficult to get out of the house with eight women trying to get ready. And when we did finally get out, the birthday-girl wanted a picture every single second. And I mean, every single second we had to stop and pose for a picture. It’s a delicate balance, because who doesn’t want beautiful pictures of Spain, but I felt as if I never got to just be and enjoy that trip due to the abundance of pictures. I knew that I had to write about Spain, and complex female relationships one day, and in MEET ME IN BARCELONA I’ve done just that. I didn’t write about me, or the birthday girl, or “Christine”. Instead I created Grace and Carrie Ann. Foster sisters. One vulnerable, the other mercurial and manipulative. They share secrets. Too many. Too deep. And when Carrie Ann disappears along with Grace’s boyfriend, Jake, Grace can’t help but think Carrie Ann is up to her old tricks. I had a love/hate experience in Barcelona, just like Grace has a love/hate relationship with Carrie Ann. In the end, I think both Grace and I come out of it with a deeper understanding of ourselves. And, no, She’ll Take It, did not get picked up by Showtime—but I haven’t given up. Maybe MEET ME IN BARCELONA will one day hit the big screen. If not, for better or worse, I’ll always have Barcelona.

Copyright 2014 ©  Storeybook Reviews