Posted in 5 paws, Giveaway, mystery, Review on December 17, 2017

 

Unnatural Causes: A Dr. Katie LeClair Mystery
Mystery/ Amateur Sleuth
New Series
Crooked Lane Books (December 12, 2017)
Hardcover: 288 pages\

Synopsis

Katie LeClair has finally settled down as the new doctor in Baxter, MI. After years of moving, schooling, and training, she wants nothing more than to find a place she can call home, and a small town outside of Ann Arbor seemed perfect.

Katie quickly gets to work in building a life for herself in Baxter, and beyond reviving her love life, she also finds a pair of business partners in a team of father and son family practitioners. But that idyllic dream is immediately shattered when one of her patients is found dead. That wouldn’t be the worst thing, except the death is ruled a suicide, and as evidence has it, the suicide was a result of the medication Katie had prescribed. But she doesn’t remember writing it.

When a closer investigation reveals it was murder, Katie is catapulted into an off-the-books investigation that leads her down a dark path of past secrets. But someone is willing to kill to keep part of the town’s history in the shadows, and Katie must race to find out who before it’s too late in nationally bestselling author Dawn Eastman’s riveting series debut Unnatural Causes.

Review

This may fit the check boxes of a cozy, but it does not really feel like one.  But if you are a lover cozies don’t let that deter you because this mystery will keep you hopping from one character to another trying to uncover the mysteries surrounding this little town in Michigan.

Katie may be a newer doctor but that doesn’t keep her from making sure she is doing the best job possible for all her patients.  We see the caring side of her with some glimpses into her childhood and the tragedy of losing her mother at a younger age.  That coupled with watching over her younger brother gives her that edge and allows her to look deeper when one of her patients dies from an apparent overdose and the feeling that something isn’t quite right.

I never suspected the killer or the reasoning in their thought process until the killer was revealed.  The sad part is that if all parties involved would have just talked more the story could have ended differently.  The author did a great job of feeding us clues to perhaps suspect some secrets that had not come out over time, but not so many that you figure out the ending.

There is a budding romance between Katie and Matt, another doctor that she knew from her residency days and while he was filling in for other doctors in Baxter.  I can’t wait to see how their romance blossoms in future books.

We give this 5 paws up and think it is a series to watch.

About the Author

National bestselling author Dawn Eastman was a family medicine physician in Michigan. Now she lives in Iowa with her husband, son, and daughter. When not writing, she keeps busy catering to the whims of a bossy bichon-shih tzu mix who wants to rule the world. This is her first Dr. Katie LeClair mystery. She is also the author of THE FAMILY FORTUNE MYSTERIES.

Webpage – Facebook – Goodreads – Twitter

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Posted in excerpt, Giveaway, romance, Texas on December 16, 2017

COWBOY, IT’S COLD OUTSIDE

A Twilight, Texas Novel

by

LORI WILDE

  Genre:  Contemporary Holiday Romance

Date of Publication: October 27, 2017

Publisher: Avon

on Twitter  ┃ on Facebook

Number of Pages: 400

Scroll down for the giveaway!

 

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author, Lori Wilde’s Twilight, TX Christmas novels are beloved for their emotional depth and ability to capture the sweetness of the holiday season. In her latest Twilight, Texas novel, COWBOY, IT’S COLD OUTSIDE, the holiday season is once again full of romance and surprises.

Everyone in town knows that Christmas in Twilight has a way of bringing lovers together . . . but will its magic bring this pair from “I won’t” to “I do?”

Wearing a too-tight “Santa Baby” costume held in by a double pair of Spanx, Paige MacGregor runs headlong into a gorgeous, grey-eyed hunk of a long, tall cowboy. And not just any cowboy, but country-western star Cash Colton, visiting Twilight to perform in a charity concert. Most women would melt at his feet, but Paige knows all-too-much about self-assured men with cocky attitudes, so she tells him to get lost.

Cash is in town, nursing his own broken heart, but Paige has knocked him off his feet. He’s convinced she’s perfect—someone to inspire his music and share his now-empty bed. True, he’s not marriage material, but he’s determined to convince her that they’re perfect together—at least for a while. But what he doesn’t count on is falling in love with the one woman who isn’t about to give him the time of day!

“When it comes to striking exactly the right balance between sweet and sexy, Wilde has the equivalent of perfect pitch.” – Booklist

>>CLICK TO PURCHASE<<

 

“Dance with me,” she said abruptly, and held out a hand.

“You want to dance?”

“You’ve convinced me that I need to have more fun.”

Waltzing with her, holding her close, was dangerous. He hesitated. She looked at him, anticipation on her lips, a beguiling smile. The boat would soon pass by. The music would drift away. He’d have her in his arms no more than a couple of minutes.

“Paige,” he murmured, “I don’t know if that’s such a good idea.”

She looked so enchanting, those sparkling hazel eyes full of life and joy. Then she whispered the magic word. “Please.”

Weak man that he was, Cash gave in. Reached out. Took her palm. Wrapped her in his arms.

She was light on her feet. Graceful. Controlled. She knew what she was doing. He led her across the small box of the living area, a neat square suddenly filled with motion and feeling. He hadn’t waltzed in a long time.

Paige interlaced her fingers through his hands, leaned her head against his chest as they danced as a unit. His hand was around her shoulder as she clung to him. One-two-three. One-two-three.

They turned, stepping back a bit as they danced like characters from a Hallmark Christmas movie. Eyes glued to each other. Hands melded. Feet floating in perfect rhythm. The houseboat rocking gently with their movements. Outside the window the snow was a wild flurry now.

It was the most damn romantic thing he’d ever done in his life, and he wanted to keep waltzing for- ever.

But the paddleboat slid away, the music growing fainter and fainter until they were dancing to nothing but the sound of their comingled breaths.

Cash had to find a way out of this before it was too late. Before he was too far gone.

“I’ve had a great time,” Cash whispered, letting go of her, stepping back. “It’s been lots of fun—”

She leaned into him, her smile a fishing lure, hooking him, reeling him back to her. “So much fun.”

He pressed his chin to the top of her head, loosened his arms from around her waist. “It’s getting late.”

“Is there any of that sangria left?” She peered around his shoulder at the kitchen table. “It was delicious.”

“I think we killed it . . .” He could see the pitcher from where they were standing. There was a third of it left.

“I don’t think we did.” Her eyes took on a naughty sheen.

He dropped his hands to his sides, felt like a wooden toy soldier. “You have to get up early . . .”

“I can easily get by on just a few hours of sleep.” “It’s well after midnight . . .” He rotated his wrist so she could see the face of his watch.

She turned up the sugar on her smile. “I don’t have to be up until six.”

“Fritzi needs his beauty rest . . .” His own voice was a desperate climber stuck in the death zone on Mount Everest.

They both turned to stare at the poodle curled into a little ball on the back of the couch, snoring softly.

“Looks like he’s getting by,” she said.

Cash inched toward the front door. “I’ll get your coat and . . .”

Paige went to the window, peered out at the rap- idly falling snow. “It’s really coming down. The dock will be slick.”

He opened the small closet, waved at pair of brown fisherman’s boots. “There are rubber boots—”

“The electricity is out. It’s pitch-black. I won’t be able to see my hands in front of my face.”

“I’ve got a flashlight.” He reached for his coat, settled his Stetson on his head. “I’ll walk you home—”

“Cowboy, it’s cold outside, and the fire is so toasty.” She scooted over to the fireplace, warmed her hands in front of the gas flames.

He draped their coats over his arm, put his hand on the doorknob. “This town is full of gossips and—”

“There’s no one around. We’re out here in the marina all on our own at this time of night on a cold December evening.”

A fifth generation Texan, Lori Wilde is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of 82 works of fiction. She’s a three-time nominee of the Romance Writers of America prestigious RITA award and has won numerous other awards. She holds a bachelor’s degree in nursing from Texas Christian University, and a certificate in forensics. She is also a certified Hatha yoga instructor, and runs a yoga/creativity retreat for artists at Epiphany Orchards in Weatherford, Texas, the Cutting Horse Capital of the World.

Website ║ Twitter ║ Facebook

 

 

————————————-

GIVEAWAY!  GIVEAWAY!  GIVEAWAY!

Ten Winners Get Print Copies of 

A Wedding for Christmas

December 9-December 18, 2017

(U.S. Only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

VISIT THE OTHER GREAT BLOGS ON THE TOUR

12/9/17 Promo Reading by Moonlight
12/10/17 Review The Librarian Talks
12/11/17 Excerpt Texan Girl Reads
12/12/17 Promo Missus Gonzo
12/13/17 Review The Page Unbound
12/14/17 Author Interview Books and Broomsticks
12/15/17 Review Chapter Break Book Blog
12/16/17 Excerpt StoreyBook Reviews
12/17/17 Review Momma on the Rocks
12/18/17 Promo Margie’s Must Reads

blog tour services provided by

Posted in 5 paws, Cozy, Giveaway, Magic, mystery, Review on December 16, 2017

Mermaid Fins, Winds & Rolling Pins: A Cozy Witch Mystery
Cozy Mystery
3rd in Series
Self Published (November 21, 2017)
Paperback: 286 pages

Synopsis

Murder at a Mermaid Nightclub

The enchanted village of Bijou Mer’s on high alert, with the villainous Horace on the loose. Imogen’s excited to escape the tension with a trip to the underwater Mermaid Kingdom to bake for the young mermaid queen’s engagement to the pirate king.

But when the mermaids turn out to be less French Riviera and more Jersey shore, the bakers are wrapped up in their world of clubbing in sea caves and fighting off seals for the best tanning spots, and are embroiled in a pirate smuggling scandal. It gets worse when a member of the mermaid court is found dead in a fishing net, and one of Imogen and Maple’s baked goods seems to be the murder weapon.

Imogen tries to fish out the real murderer to clear their names, while struggling with her romantic feelings for Hank. At the same time, she’s working with him to learn to control her magic and investigate Horace’s riddle and her own mysterious past.

As the mermaid court’s freewheeling lifestyle rubs off on the bakers, the gang lets loose and passions rise to the surface. But with a giant octopus crawling the ocean floor, the mermaid court filled with simmering secrets and scandals, and the ever present threat of the Badlands Army, Imogen must solve the murder before she ends up fish food herself.

Review

Another hit in this magical cozy mystery series.

The gang from the Water Kingdom travels to the Mermaid Kingdom to make the pastries and such for the wedding of the Mermaid Queen (Winnie) to the Pirate King (Chuck).  To do this, Imogen and the others have to transform into merpeople to be able to get around their world since most of it is under water.  It is a new twist for Imogen, as she is still getting used to having magical powers.  While there they come across a mermaid that was murdered and Imogen has to solve the crime.  I will have to admit that I never guessed who killed Bubbles and the reason why was quite fascinating.  So much history between many characters. And there is some interesting twists when it comes to Imogen and Hank and their attraction to each other.  Oh and we do learn a little bit more about Imogen’s past and how she didn’t know she was magical.  There is still a lot more to come with that aspect, but what we discover is quite shocking – or at least to me it was!

I still can’t explain why I really like this series.  Maybe it is the creativity in the characters, worlds and magic; maybe it is the humorous situations; maybe it is the burgeoning love between Imogen and Hank; or maybe it is just the right book at the right time.  But whatever reason, this is a must read series for me and I can’t wait for book four that will be out sometime this month.

We give this book 5 paws up

About the Author

A native of Tempe, Arizona, Erin spends her time crafting mysterious, magical, romance-filled stories that’ll hopefully make you laugh.

In between, she’s traveling, napping with her dogs, eating with her friends and family, and teaching Pilates (to allow her to eat more).

Website * Facebook * Twitter

 

Giveaway

There are 2 giveaways!  The first is a set of all 3 books (so far) in this series in eBook format.  Open internationally

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The second giveaway is a tour wide giveaway


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Posted in excerpt, Giveaway, romance on December 16, 2017

 

 

How to Kiss a Billionaire by Cami Checketts

Sassy meets swoon-worthy in this fast-paced contemporary romance.

Miriam Salisbury escapes to Oregon to avoid a boyfriend who won’t take no for an answer, killing her beloved cat to prove it. When her father sends Clay Browning to protect her, she’s certain he’s lost his mind. As far as she’s concerned Clay’s experience is limited to posing for the camera, charming women, and making fun of her. He’s been teasing her since they were children and she’s never gotten over the way he threw crawdads at her at church picnics.

Clay retired from the military and entered the world of private security. When he gets the call to protect Miriam he’s excited to be around his lifelong crush. As expected, he teases her nonstop and the only thing he takes seriously is her security. He knows she’d never give him a chance and he can’t help but give her a hard time.

After Miriam is dumped in the freezing ocean on a crabbing expedition and Clay saves her from drowning and freezing to death, she takes a second look at her hired gun. But opening up to him is more terrifying than facing her stalker.

As events escalate to a frenzied climax, Miriam and Clay must put aside past grudges in the hope of finding a lasting love for their future.

* – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – *

Praise for series:

“Cami Checketts is an expert at sending a flurry of butterflies straight to the heart! If you love the beach, a dash of suspense, and some toe-curling, swoony romance, then the Billionaire Beach Romance series is definitely for you.” Katie Watkins, Book Reviewer, Katie’s Clean Book Collection

“I LOVE these sweet romances! I love that each of them is a mini escape. You almost feel as though you’ve traveled to a warm destination even though it’s cold and snowy where you live. I love that I can pass them to either my daughter or my grandma and never have any concern about the content. And the characters in these are amazing! I love them all!” Cathy Jeppsen, Book Reviewer, My Book a Day

* – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – *

Miriam closed her eyes as Clay’s arms came around her and held her tight.

“Whoa, darling, if I would’ve known I’d get this reception, I would’ve broken into your house years ago.”

Miriam pushed away from him, stumbling from the realization that he hadn’t changed. Clay was a vicious flirt and never took anything seriously. She shoved at his chest, but he didn’t budge. He was real and he was here, and unfortunately for her unsteady nerves, it didn’t look like he was going away. “What are you doing here?” she demanded.

“Your daddy hired me.”

“My daddy … hired you?” She glared at him. “For what? A pinup model?”

He smiled and tilted his head to the side. “I know I look good, but I actually have a few skills in protection too.”

“You do not. All you’ve ever been good at is spending your billions of dollars and getting women to simper at your feet.” She knew he’d been in the military for four years after high school, but after that, he appeared to be the ultimate player. At least, it looked that way in the online photos she’d seen, when she’d googled him. Okay, it was pathetic that she’d googled him, but he was Clay Browning, a.k.a. Miriam’s dream man.

He spread his arms, and she couldn’t help but notice the definition from his forearms and biceps up through his shoulders and chest. Maybe he should find a shirt that wasn’t so … form-fitting. “Hey, I’ve got lots of talents. What can I say?”

Miriam pushed out a huffy breath. “You are not here. This is all some kind of crazy fantasy.”

“I know I’m the stuff fantasies are made of, but I really am here.” He sauntered a step closer, and that spicy cologne made her stomach heat up. “You want to enact some of those fantasies you’ve been having about me?”

She put a hand on his chest to keep him from coming any closer. Those muscles were real. Yikes. She dropped her hand and stepped back. “For one second, just for one, be serious. Why are you here, and how did you get in my house?”

Clay rolled his eyes and folded his arms across his chest. Sheesh. What did he do with biceps that defined? Wrestle bulls?

Focus, Miriam!

“Your daddy called me, said Greg was threatening and stalking you and I had to find you. So I found you, and now I’m here to watch over you.”

Watch over you? She would not survive with this man in the same town, let alone the same house. Her throat was dry and all those daydreams she used to have about him rotated through her mind.

“How did you get in?” she demanded.

“I told you: I have skills.” He smiled and finally admitted, “I was special ops in the Army and I’ve worked in private security since then.”

“You’re being serious now? This isn’t some bull crap line that Clay Browning is giving me?”

He smirked. “You can believe whatever you want, sweetheart.” He took a step closer, and her legs betrayed her by not backing up. “But do believe that I’m here and you I and are going to get real cozy.”

Miriam looked over his gorgeous face. She clenched her trembling hands together and swallowed hard. “I’m not one of your flavors of the week, Clay.”

He leaned in and sniffed her. “Ah. Yeah, I think you are. Vanilla with a hint of chocolate. My favorite flavor this week.”

 

* – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – *

About the Author

Cami Checketts is married and the proud mother of four future WWF champions. Sometimes between being a human horse, cleaning up magic potions, and reading Bernstein Bears, she gets the chance to write fiction.

Cami graduated from Utah State University with a degree in Exercise Science. She and her family live in the beautiful Cache Valley of Northern Utah. During the two months of the year it isn’t snowing, she enjoys swimming, biking, running, and water-skiing.

 

* – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – *

Also by Cami Checketts

Don’t miss the rest of the Billionaire Beach Romances:
Shadows in the Curtain
Caribbean Rescue
Cozumel Escape
Cancun Getaway
Trusting the Billionaire
Onboard for Love

 

* – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – *

Giveaway Details

$25 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Giveaway

Ends 12/31/17

Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Posted in Cozy, Giveaway, Guest Post, mystery on December 15, 2017

Running out of Time (A Dodie O’Dell Mystery)
Cozy Mystery
3rd in Series
Lyrical Underground (October 10, 2017)
Paperback: 220 pages

Synopsis

Restaurant manager Dodie O’Dell’s themed food ideas have been called cute, clever, and delicious, but never revolutionary—until now. Dodie’s Windjammer Restaurant is stocking the Etonville Little Theatre’s concession stand with colonial-era desserts and drinks: Swamp Yankee applesauce cake, pumpkin bread, hot cider punch, and mulled wine to complement the latest production. A local playwright has adapted Thornton Wilder’s Our Town into Eton Town, shifting the story to colonial America and the founding of Etonville, New Jersey, shortly after the Revolutionary War.

On opening night, hours before the curtain rises, Dodie runs into an agitated actress backstage with blood on her hands. Then a stranger is found among the chairs set for a graveyard scene with a knife in his chest. The show will not go on—the theatre is now a crime scene. Hoping to clear the red-handed suspect, Dodie returns to the role of amateur sleuth to mull over the clues and beat the backstage stabber to the punch—before someone else becomes history . . .

Guest Post

Folks love to ask writers, including me “where the ideas for stories and characters come from.” It’s an interesting question… Though I knew from the start a number of years ago that I wanted to write crime fiction, it took awhile to realize that I intended to dip my toe into the cozy mystery genre: small town life, an amateur sleuth, a sense of humor, most of the blood and guts “offstage.” I realized that I wanted to create stories that featured a cast of characters that both myself and my readers could fall in love with, would be happy to engage with over a series of books, and would be willing to invest time and reading energy into. The Dodie O’Dell mystery series was born!

The characters popped up: Dodie O’Dell, manager of the Windjammer restaurant in Etonville, New Jersey, whose smart, daring instincts are right on the money when she is faced with another murder in Etonville. Of course, she needs the help of Lola Trotter, her best friend and the artistic director of the Etonville Little Theatre, and the town’s reigning diva, and Pauli Palmieri, Dodie’s teenage computer geek. He has a digital forensics tool box to help Dodie solve the town’s mysteries. And there’s Walter Zeitzman, sometime director and playwright, in love with his wacky rehearsal exercises as well as Lola!

Meanwhile Henry, Dodie’s boss and the chef/owner of the Windjammer restaurant, supports Dodie’s theme food adventures—she plans restaurant specials and concessions that match the theme of each theatre production. But he’s not completely on board with her investigative adventures…and speaking of investigations, there’s Bill Thompson, Etonville’s hunky police chief and Dodie’s love interest, a very by-the-book officer who is gradually becoming more appreciative of Dodie’s good nose for detection, but still wary of her tendency to go it alone. And I can’t forget Benny, the Windjammer bartender and Dodie confidant, Carol, Dodie’s other BFF and the owner of the Snippets salon—Etonville’s rumor central—and the Banger sisters, Etonville’s elderly duo who have their aging digits on the pulse of town gossip.

For this series of books, I dove in with the old adage “write what you know” as my mantra! Etonville, NJ? I live in northern New Jersey, just a few miles from New York City. Which gave me the opportunity to set some scenes in the Big Apple—which I’ve done in my latest book RUNNING OUT OF TIME. The Windjammer restaurant? I spent summers waitressing as I worked my way through college and, in recent years, gained valuable insights by cooking at a local soup kitchen. I can follow a recipe but improvising with ingredients is out of my league. The Etonville Little Theatre? I had a long academic career teaching in a university theatre program and directing productions. I also spent time with a community theatre and can appreciate the challenges of getting the show on the road: The nerve-wracking casting process when everyone thinks they are suitable for the lead roles; the first read through with actors sizing up the competition and the director panicking with her casting decisions; the rehearsals contending with actors’ schedules, getting off-book, and diva behavior; dealing with bulky scenery; and those weird warm-up exercises…oh yeah, I know theatre!

So, the stories and characters for my Dodie O’Dell mystery series are very close to home. Some days I feel as if I live in Etonville, sharing in the antics of the town’s citizens. It’s fun!

Join me?

 

About the Author

Suzanne Trauth is a novelist, playwright, screenwriter, and a former university theatre professor. She is a member of Mystery Writers of America, Sisters in Crime, and the Dramatists Guild. When she is not writing, Suzanne coaches actors and serves as a celebrant performing wedding ceremonies. She lives in Woodland Park, New Jersey.

Website * Twitter * Facebook

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Posted in excerpt, Giveaway, romance on December 15, 2017

 

Marrying Miss Kringle: Lux by Lucy McConnell

Christmas Magic is changing and the Kringle Family scrambles to keep up in this fun and entertaining, sweet Christmas romance from Author Lucy McConnell.

A normal electrical substation takes two years to build; but, Lux has 365 days to install one at the North Pole or Christmas Magic will overload the factory and send them back to the Dark Ages.

The one man on the planet with the know-how, the education, and the time to help Lux finish the substation before her Noel deadline, is also the one man who sends sparks through her heart and surges through the power system.

If Lux kisses Matthew Quik—again!—she could blow up Santa’s workshop before she has a chance to save it. If she doesn’t kiss him, she may lose him forever.

 

 

 

* – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – *

 

Praise for the book

“For getting me in the mood for Christmas, and the romantic aspect of this holiday even before Thanksgiving, I’m happy to give Ms. McConnell the 5 STARS I’ve given her book.”

“Marrying Miss Kringle: Lux is a funny, tender, magical adventure into the sparkles of Christmas Magic and the sparks of human love.”

 

* – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – *

 

Lux’s cheeks dusted pink. With her red hair and fair skin, she should have flushed bright red, but only this sprinkling of pink appeared, like she’d been dusted with pink powdered sugar. Why did this woman bring to mind sweet things like powdered sugar and chocolate and kisses at sunset? He gave his head a mighty shake. “You fell in the water.” “I know.” At least, he thought he knew. Everything had happened so fast. He’d fallen asleep and woken up when the ice cracked. He plopped his feet to the floor only to have them land in several inches of water. His stove had tipped over and the hot metal had melted clear through the ice. There must have been a crack in the ice nearby. “We pulled you out.” “We?” Quik adjusted the blankets over his arms. He could only imagine Lux and Ginger and Frost tearing his clothes off. Lux made to adjust her glasses, but they weren’t there. She looked around like they’d fallen off and she didn’t know how. So he wasn’t the only one thrown off by all this. Quik’s eyes traveled lower to find her bare shoulders and her skintight tank top. He jerked his eyes back up to her face, hoping she hadn’t caught his wandering eye. “Me and Dunder.” She chewed her lip. “My reindeer.” “Of course.” The situation was going up in weirdness. Having used up all his ability to care about propriety, Quik leaned back against the seat. He was in the bottom of a fancy velvet-lined sled. Yep. Weird. His eyes dropped shut. “You cut my pants?” he asked. “I’ll get you new ones,” offered Lux. “Did you cut my shirt too?” “No!” She was offended. That was kind of cute. “Too bad. I needed a new shirt.” He half smiled.

 

* – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – *

About the Author

Award-winning author, Lucy McConnell, loves Christmas, romance, chocolate and Elvis.

She started out as an editor at an advertising agency before moving on to teach in the marketing department of the local community college. She loved teaching and often misses the academic environment.

Lucy retired from teaching and began to write articles and sweet romance novels. She has been published in national magazines, newspapers, short story compilations, and she writes cookbooks under the name Christina Dymock.

If she’s not at the computer, you can find her trying to keep up with her husband and four kids on the ski slopes, in a boat, in the kitchen, or on a horse.

 

* – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – *

Also by Lucy McConnell

 

* – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – *

Giveaway Details

$25 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Giveaway

Ends 12/30/17

Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Posted in 5 paws, Cozy, Giveaway, mystery, Review on December 14, 2017

Honey-Baked Homicide (A Down South Café Mystery)
Cozy Mystery
3rd in Series
Setting – Virginia
Berkley (December 5, 2017)
Mass Market Paperback: 288 pages

Synopsis

The owner of a delightful Southern café tastes the sharp sting of suspicion in this delectable comfort food mystery . . .

It’s fall in Winter Garden, Virginia, and business at Amy Flowers’ Down South Café has never been better. So when struggling beekeeper Stuart Landon asks Amy to sell some of his honey, she’s happy to help. The jars of honey are a sweet success, but their partnership is cut short when Amy discovers Landon’s body outside the café early one morning.

As Amy tries to figure out who could possibly have wanted to harm the unassuming beekeeper, she discovers an ever-expanding list of suspects—and they’re all buzzing mad. She’ll have to use all of her skills—and her Southern charm—to find her way out of this sticky situation…

Books-A-Million * Indiebound

Review

You never know who the killer might be in Winter Garden…or what might be on the menu at the Down South Cafe.

I really enjoy these books because it seems like I can never figure out the killer. I might come close now and again. I’m not sure if there are a lot of clues on this one, but there are many possibilities and it comes down to greed. I was quite surprised how the story unfolded at the end!

All the characters interact with each other quite well despite any quirky behavior. Aunt Bess always cracks me up and Homer always has some words of wisdom from his hero of the day. It is amazing how whoever the hero is, there is an appropriate quote to fit the situation.

I am enjoying the relationship between Amy and Ryan. They definitely have chemistry but are taking it slow and enjoying each other’s company.

We give this 5 paws up.

 

About the Author

Gayle&Cooper

Gayle Leeson is a pseudonym for Gayle Trent. I also write as Amanda Lee. As Gayle Trent, I write the Daphne Martin Cake Mystery series and the Myrtle Crumb Mystery series. As Amanda Lee, I write the Embroidery Mystery series. I live in Virginia with my family, which includes her own “Angus” who is not an Irish wolfhound but a Great Pyrenees who provides plenty of inspiration for the character of Mr. O’Ruff. I’m having a blast writing this new series!

 

Webpage * Gayle Trent Webpage * Facebook * Twitter * GoodReads

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Posted in excerpt, Giveaway, romance on December 14, 2017

 

 

Just Ella by Annette K. Larsen

Ariella was only looking for a distraction, something to break up the monotony of palace life. What she found was a young man willing to overlook her title and show her a new and vibrant way of life. But when her growing feelings for Gavin spiral out of control and clash with the expectations of her station, she will discover that the consequences of her curiosity are far more severe than she’d imagined.

“I watched in helpless horror as two guards hauled Gavin to his feet and dragged him from the room. My voice was frozen, unable to protest as another guard took hold of my arm, leading me upstairs. From the confines of my room, I stared into the darkness beyond my window, hoping to catch one more glimpse of Gavin. He was gone, and I wondered if he would have been better off if he had never met me.”

* – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – *

Praise for Just Ella

“This book is so well written it felt just perfect. Honest. I loved it from beginning to end.” -Aimee Brown, Getting Your Read On

“Full of those tender moments you want to go back and read again, plus exciting moments, clever humor, and some suspense as well.” -Jana, The Writer’s Assistant

“Loved every second of this book. It was engaging, eventful, beautifully written and hard to put down. It’s wonderful for all ages!” -Jen, Goodreads

 

 

* – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – *

 

 

He gave me a sad smile and shrugged. “I apologize if my bluntness offends you. I figured you would leave if you were upset by me.”
“That would be very rude of me.”
“It’s what I’d expect.”
“Why? Because that’s what a noble would do?”
“Well.” The confusion was back, forcing him to make a slight concession. “Any other noble.” It was somewhat gratifying that he no longer felt compelled to lump me with the nobles he despised. However, the fact remained—I wasn’t a noble. And I knew he would think even less of me when he knew what I was.
I wouldn’t lie. “I told you, I’m not—”
“Come now, Ella. Your tree climbing hasn’t got me fooled.” He used an almost paternal tone, his eyes laughing. “You are nobility, aren’t you?”
I buried my hurt. “No, I’m something worse.”
“Oh, come now, I don’t think that badly of people. The only thing that might be worse is royalty.” How charming he was, even when insulting me.
I stood silent for a moment, wondering if he would catch on. When he continued to gaze at me, I simply said, “Exactly.”
A look of horror crossed his face and I gave him a sad smile before turning to leave.
“Oh,” I heard him stuttering behind me, sounding utterly mortified. “No, I…my apologies, miss—Your Highness,” he corrected himself sharply. “Princess, I’m so very sorry, I…”
I shook my head as I turned to face him again. He looked so different: the confidence, the grin, the amusement were all gone, replaced with a look akin to physical pain. “It’s all right,” I said quietly. “You’re not wrong.” I should have inclined my head, waiting for him to bow before I left. Instead I lifted my hand in farewell.

 

 

* – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – *

 

 

* – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – *

 

About the Author

I was born in Utah, but migrated to Arizona, Missouri, and Virginia before settling in Idaho.

Though I dabbled in writing throughout school, being an author seemed like an unattainable dream. It took me seven years to write my first book, Just Ella. During that time, I taught myself how to write a novel. Not the most time effective method, but it gave me an education I wouldn’t have received from a class or a how-to book. Something about the struggle of writing without a formula or rules worked for me.

I write clean romance because I love it. Jane Eyre is the hero of my youth and taught me that clinging to your convictions will be hard, but will bring you more genuine happiness than giving in ever can.

I love chocolate, Into the Woods, ocean waves, my husband, and my five littles. And I love books that leave me with a sigh of contentment.

 

* – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – *

Also by Annette K. Larsen

 

 

Keeping Kinley is on Sale for just 99 cents!

* – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – *

 

Giveaway Details

$25 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Giveaway

Ends 12/28/17

Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Posted in Fantasy, Giveaway, Spotlight on December 14, 2017

 

 

Synopsis

The epic tale continues.  A new covenant has been forged in the chaos of war. Its price is nothing less than the Bearer of the Lion Ring’s soul.

The rivalry for dominance over the continent of Andara has taken a dark turn. Eternal enemies – the Jalora and the Sarcion – pit their forces against one another in bloody battle. Good weakens, betrayed by the very humans it has sworn to protect. Valdeon, its stronghold on Andara, falls to sword and flame. The fires of its destruction are set alight by barbaric invaders from across the sea. Their brutal hand conquers the land in a night, exiling the Lords of Valdeon – Sacred Guard of the Covenant. Cut off from the center of their power, the Jalora’s greatest heroes are helpless to defend their homeland.

Hope still lingers. Seth D’Antoiné, Bearer of the Lion Ring, journeys to the great Obsidian Citadel seeking a magical relic, the Book of Ancients. Its power could hold the key to Andara’s defense. He alone can open its pages, sparking the magic into life and restoring the Jalora’s waning power. Finding the book won’t be easy. Elusive Obsidian Gates – appearing and then vanishing again by their own will – keep the secret of the book’s location well hidden.

In the depths of the mountain fortress, he finds treachery and intrigue hiding within its walls. Can Seth open the Book of Ancients before the Sarcion’s men find him? Or will the power of Good leave the land forever? Andara’s future awaits behind the Obsidian Gates…

Digital eBook coming in January 2018!

 

Synopsis

A new series from award winning Author, C.R. Richards: The epic tale of two men begins. The first – a man of honor trying desperately to turn his country from civil war. The other – a boy struggling to discover his destiny before agents of evil find him first.

Coveted by two ancient enemies of a long forgotten age, the continent of Andara holds the key to victory in an endless struggle for dominance. Eight hundred years have passed since the god-like Jalora struck a bargain with the first King of Valdeon. The Lion Ring, symbol of the covenant and conduit of power, gives its bearer incredible abilities. The ring’s borrowed magic protects the people of Andara from covetous evil, but there is a price. As with most predators, the Lion Ring must feed. Only the blood of the D’Antoiné family line will satisfy its hunger.

A rival for Andara’s treasures, the Sarcion has waited impatiently for its time upon the land. Whispers of treason in the right ear aid its treachery. The King of Valdeon mysteriously disappears, leaving his lands in danger of a civil war by the hand of a murderous usurper. His Lion Ring is lost and the covenant is broken. The Jalora’s power begins to seep away from the land. Evil’s foot hold grows stronger. Can the Lords of Valdeon, Sacred Guard of the covenant, stop the tides of war? Or will Andara fall into chaos? The future rests in the blood of a boy…

Praise for The Heart of the Warrior Series

“The Obsidian Gates (Heart of the Warrior Book Two), by C.R. Richards, is a gripping tale of courage and sacrifice as the men who have sworn to save their land Andara battle the evil forces intent upon gaining command of it. The appealing, vividly-drawn characters struggle to overcome centuries of political intrigue as well as mysterious powers arrayed against them. In this sequel to The Lords of Valdeon, (Heart of the Warrior Book One) the award-winning Richards continues this sweeping adventure in breathtaking style.” – Yvonne Montgomery, Author of the Wisdom Court Books, Edge of the Shadow; A Signal Shown; All in Bad Time

“C.R. Richards is an excellent storyteller. The story carries you along at a good pace, while maximizing suspense and piquing your curiosity. As an adult, I loved it, and I think my teenagers would enjoy it, too.”

“I was hooked! There’s something about these characters that just made me need to know what happens to them all!”

“C.R. Richards is an amazing writer. Amazing…my expectations are high for upcoming books in the series.”

“Intense and involved”

“This is not your typical evil vs good story. It grips you through the entire journey and has your full attention.”

“Great blend of suspense, intrigue and adventure. Highly recommend this read.”

“This book is like the Night Circus in its extensive descriptions, mixed with Star Wars’ family feud, with a hint of fantasy and mystery mixed in. I think this is an amazing start to the series, and my expectations are high for the nextbook!”

About the Author

A huge lover of horror and dark fantasy stories, C. R. Richards enjoys telling tales of intrigue and adventure. Having began writing as a part-time columnist for a small entertainment newspaper, Richards has worn several hats: food critic, entertainment reviewer and cranky editor. She has now published a handful of novels, including Phantom Harvest – book one in The Mutant Casebook Series – which took home the EPIC eBook Award for Fantasy in 2014. Richards beat out entries from the U.S., Canada, United Kingdom, Australia and other English speaking countries.

The youngest of five army brats, Richards was born on a military base in Utah.  She spent much of her childhood in the back of her family’s sky blue station wagon on trips to see her grandmother – who would show her how to spot faeries in the backyard.  “Sometimes she’d put candy in small silk slippers and tell us the pixies had done it,” says Richards. “She’s the one who gave me my love of fantasy creatures.”

Her most recent literary projects include the horror short story, Lost Man’s Parish and the newly-released dark fantasy thriller, Pariah. She is an active member of Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers and Horror Writers Association.

In November, Richards releases her epic dark fantasy novel The Obsidian Gates, the second installment in the Heart of the Warrior series. Through her storytelling, Richards aims to reach lovers of fantasy who are exploring alternatives to the traditional status quo. Her message is simple: One person can be a catalyst for change.

 

WebsiteFacebookTwitterInstagramGoodreads

Giveaway

There are 2 giveaways happening here today!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Posted in Giveaway, Novella, romance on December 13, 2017

 

The Falling Series

Contemporary Romance Novellas from USA Today bestselling author Heather B. Moore

 

Falling for Sydney

Sydney has been the perfect friend, the perfect daughter, and Rian checks off on her perfect fiancé list. But when Sydney notices a strange truck parked in her fiancé’s parking spot, she’s in for the surprise of her life. Not only is Rian not who she thought he was, but his brother Jake is about to turn her life upside down.

 

 

 

* – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – *

 

 

Falling for Maria

At twenty-six, Maria is holding out for the perfect man to share the rest of her life with. Josh seems to be that man, but after months of dating, their relationship is at a stand-still. Maria plans to nudge Josh forward, but when the company she works for is bought out, her new boss Walker seems determined to change Maria’s idea of the perfect man.

 

 

* – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – *

 

Falling for June

Once a year, June Dawson goes on vacation with her best friends from high school. When she arrives in Maui, she realizes she’s the odd-woman out. With Sydney engaged, and Maria nearly so, June wonders if anyone will ever fall for her. Then June meets Lance, their gorgeous next door bungalow neighbor at the Maui resort, and she’s definitely charmed. But after her recent breakup, June refuses to fall for gorgeous, or charming, again.

 

 

* – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – *

 

About the Author

Heather B. Moore is a USA Today bestselling author of more than a dozen historical novels and thrillers, written under pen name H.B. Moore. She writes women’s fiction, romance and inspirational non-fiction under Heather B. Moore. This can all be confusing, so her kids just call her Mom. Heather attended Cairo American College in Egypt, the Anglican School of Jerusalem in Israel, and earned a Bachelor of Science degree from Brigham Young University in Utah. Heather is represented by Jane Dystel of Dystel, Goderich, and Bourret.

 

* – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – *

Also by Heather B. Moore

 

* – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – * – *

 

Giveaway Details

$25 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Giveaway

Ends 12/27/17

Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

a Rafflecopter giveaway