Posted in Book Release, Coloring Book, Spotlight on August 30, 2016

Beautiful Belly Dancers Coloring Book banner

 

Beautiful Belly Dancers Coloring Book

Title: Beautiful Belly Dancer Coloring Book
Author: Richard G. Lowe Jr.
Publisher: The Writing King
Pages: 110
Genre: Adult Coloring Book

What could be better than an adult coloring book of beautiful belly dancers? These gorgeous ladies have performed all over the world, and now their images are presented here for your coloring pleasure. All pages are printed on one side to make your coloring easy.

goodreads-badge-add-plus

amazon buy

Belly Dancer Coloring Book Teaser

About the Author

After spending over 33 years in the computer and information technology industry, Richard G. Lowe Jr. decided to take an early retirement to pursue his dreams of becoming a professional writer and published author. Richard is a leader in the computer industry, serving as Vice President of Consulting at Software Techniques and Beck Computer Systems before settling down as Director of Computer Operations at Trader Joe’s. During his twenty-year tenure at that esteemed company, he focused on computer security and preparing for the possibility of disaster.

In addition to creating hundreds of articles for the web and blogs, Richard actively works as a professional ghostwriter. In that role, he has completed books on a wide variety of subjects including memoirs, business volumes, and novels. Because of his in-depth background in software management and computer security, Richard has ghostwritten a number of major books in those areas.

Additionally, Richard has published books of his own. His first two volumes, Safe Computing is Like Safe Sex and Real World Survival Tips and Survival Guide, respectively touch on the subjects of computer security and how to survive emergencies and disasters. Richard has also written and published a series of short eBooks on the aspects of freelance writing, including blogging and ghostwriting. Other published books include How to Plan a Party and How to Surround Yourself with Beautiful Women without Being a Sleazeball.

An avid adventurer, Richard has been a photographer for much of his life, with a focus on nature, scenic, performance and event photography. He has done everything from hiking in dozens of national parks throughout the country, to photographing various unique festivals and events, such as the Labyrinth of Jareth Masquerade Ball and the World Mermaid Awards Convention. He is well known in the Renaissance Festival and Belly Dance communities, having photographed over 1,200 dance events and 400 festivals. For several years, he photographed the Tournament of Roses parade in Pasadena, California.

Richard is currently working on a large number of short Kindle eBooks on a wide variety of subjects. Beginning in 2016, the first of a ten volume series of Science Fiction novels will be published.

One of Richard’s passions is to use the power of words to educate people on human rights. He believes the world will be a better place when human beings are treated with the full respect and dignity they are due.

Website *  Facebook * Twitter  * RadioGuestList

Posted in 4 paws, England, Review, romance on August 30, 2016

a summer romance

Synopsis

‘Milly settles into her new job but does her boss, Ashley Wilmot-Fox, have secrets that he is hiding in Briar Lodge? Will he be able to help Milly fight the ghosts from her past? Will Billy’s blundering romance last, and will Rafe’s secret affair be exposed? As the villagers prepare for their summer fete they have no idea what will be revealed on that day. ‘

Funny, Compassionate and Sizzling Sexy, A Summer Romance is a page-turning summer read.

A Summer Romance is the sequel to A Village Romance and is the third book in the Little Perran series by Lynda Renham writing as Amy Perfect. The first book was ‘A Christmas Romance’

goodreads-badge-add-plus

Amazon UK * Amazon US

Review

After reading A Village Romance, I was afraid to pick this book up and read it. However, I’m not sure if the author found her groove or what because it was much better and very enjoyable. There is a little drama/mystery, some romance, betrayal and some humor.

I like how the townspeople of Little Perran come together in times of crisis. It makes me want to live there – other than having to deal with Stella who is quite the gossip and bitter as well. And while the town may seem idyllic, not everyone is perfect and they all have their own demons to battle.

While the characters may not be deep, they do have some complexity to them and all of them round out the story well.

We give this 4 paws up.

pawprintpawprintpawprintpawprint

About the Author

Lynda Renham has been writing for as long as she can remember and had her first work published in a magazine at age nine and has continued writing in various forms since. She has had several poems published as well as articles in numerous magazines and newspapers. Recently she has taken part in radio discussions on the BBC.

She has studied literature and creative writing and has a blog on her web page.

Lynda lives with her second husband and cat in Oxfordshire, England. She is Associate Editor for the online magazine The Scavenger and contributor to many others. When not writing Lynda can usually be found wasting her time on Facebook.

Blog * Twitter * Facebook

 

Posted in 5 paws, Cozy, mystery, Review on August 29, 2016

crepes of wrath large banner640

CREPES OF WRATH

New Cozy Series
File Size: 6124 KB
Print Length: 257 pages
Publisher: Alibi (August 16, 2016)
ASIN: B01A4ATX58

Synopsis

When Marley McKinney’s aging cousin, Jimmy, is hospitalized with pneumonia, she agrees to help run his pancake house while he recovers. With its rustic interior and syrupy scent, the Flip Side Pancake House is just as she pictured it—and the surly chef is a wizard with crêpes. Marley expects to spend a leisurely week or two in Wildwood Cove, the quaint, coastal community where she used to spend her summers, but then Cousin Jimmy is found murdered, sprawled on the rocks beneath a nearby cliff.

After she stumbles across evidence of stolen goods in Jimmy’s workshop, Marley is determined to find out what’s really going on in the not-so-quiet town of Wildwood Cove. With help from her childhood crush and her adopted cat, Flapjack, Marley sinks her teeth into the investigation. But if she’s not careful, she’s going to get burned by a killer who’s only interested in serving up trouble.

goodreads-badge-add-plus

Penguin Random House * Amazon.com * Amazon.ca * Chapters * Barnes&Noble * Google Play

Review

A book set in a pancake house? sign me up and save me a table.

This is a new cozy series and I think it is going to be a winner. Marley is covering for her cousin Jimmy while he recovers in the hospital, only to end of dead. And while Marley doesn’t mean to solve the crime (and it wouldn’t be a cozy if she didn’t!), she feels dragged into the situation because it is affecting the pancake house and Jimmy’s home.

The author does a good job of bringing in several characters that could be the killer for various reasons, but the true killer is hiding under our noses and while there are some hints that this person is up to no good, it isn’t overt. I don’t know that I suspected this character, but I did have some doubts in my mind about their innocence in something!

There is even a little romance happening between Marley and Brett. Perhaps one that could put some interesting twists on future books.

Oh and don’t forget the recipes at the end of the book – especially the bacon cheddar waffles!

We give this 5 paws up and look forward to reading more in this series.

pawprintpawprintpawprintpawprintpawprint

About the Author

Sarah FoxSarah Fox was born and raised in Vancouver, British Columbia, where she developed a love for mysteries at a young age. When not writing novels or working as a legal writer, she is often reading her way through a stack of books or spending time outdoors with her English Springer Spaniel.

Website * Facebook * Twitter * Goodreads

 

 

 

 

great escape button160

Check out these other blogs on the tour

August 15 – Reading Reality – REVIEW

August 16 – Mochas, Mysteries and Meows – INTERVIEW

August 16 – The Book’s the Thing – REVIEW

August 16 – Carole’s Book Corner – REVIEW

August 17 – Reading Is My SuperPower – REVIEW

August 17 – The Pulp and Mystery Shelf – INTERVIEW

August 18 – Melina’s Book Blog – REVIEW

August 18 – Socrates Book Reviews – REVIEW

August 19 – Babs Book Bistro – REVIEW

August 19 – Laura’s Interests – REVIEW

August 19 – Cassidy Salem Reads & Writes – SPOTLIGHT

August 20 – Lisa Ks Book Reviews – REVIEW

August 21 – Classy Cheapskate  – REVIEW

August 22 – Jersey Girl Book Reviews – REVIEW, GUEST POST

August 23 – Ashleyz Wonderland – REVIEW,

August 23 – Island Confidential – SPOTLIGHT

August 24 – A Blue Million Books – GUEST POST

August 25 – Book Babble – REVIEW

August 26 – Cozy Up With Kathy – REVIEW

August 27 – 3 Partners in Shopping, Nana, Mommy, &, Sissy, Too! – SPOTLIGHT

August 27 – Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

August 28 – A Holland Reads – GUEST POST

August 29 – StoreyBook Reviews – REVIEW

August 30 – Queen of All She Reads – REVIEW

August 31 – The Girl with Book Lungs – SPOTLIGHT

August 31 – A Chick Who Reads – REVIEW

Posted in Cozy, Giveaway, Monday, mystery, Spotlight on August 29, 2016

NINE LIFELINES large banner640

Nine felines cover newes2t

Nine Lifelines (Psycho Cat and the Landlady Mysteries)
Cozy Mystery
3rd in Series
Self Published
Paperback: 316 pages
ISBN-13: 978-1533367105
E-Book ASIN: B01H0NIGGE

Synopsis

The elevator won’t go to the tenth floor, someone is breaking into condos, and the well-heeled Ukrainian renter isn’t paying the rent. Beth and Arnie have retired to the building where Beth’s last rental unit is located, and Beth, the klutzy landlady, has declared herself through solving mysteries. Then, her renter is arrested for the murder of the neighbor who fell (was pushed?) from the tenth-story balcony and the dead neighbor’s grandchildren are left with only their wheelchair-ridden grandmother to care for them. Beth feels compelled to help out.

Are Sylvester’s psycho-cat behaviors providing clues? Is the renter actually the killer? Do the break-ins and elevator problem have anything to do with the murder? Even Arnie, who has always told Beth to keep her nose out of police business, gets involved—for the sake of the children.

goodreads-badge-add-plus

amazon buy

Createspace

About the Author

Joyce Ann BrownJoyce Ann Brown, the author of the Psycho Cat and the Landlady Mystery series, set in Kansas City, was a librarian, a landlady, and a Realtor before becoming a short story and novel writer. She also has two mischievous cats.

Her actual tenants have never disappeared, murdered, or been murdered. Nor have any of them found a skeleton in the attic. Joyce has never solved a crime. Moose and Chloe, her cats, haven’t sniffed out a mystery, at least not yet.

Joyce spends her days writing (with a few breaks for tennis, walking, and book clubs) so that Beth, the landlady in the series, and Sylvester, the Psycho Cat, can make up for her real-life lack of excitement in a big way.

WebsiteBlog * Blog *  Facebook * Twitter * Goodreads

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

great escape button160

Check out these other blogs on the tour

August 29 – Mochas, Mysteries and Meows – REVIEW, CHARACTER INTERVIEW

August 29 – StoreyBook Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

August 30 – Laura’s Interests – REVIEW

August 31 – Mallory Heart’s Cozies – REVIEW

August 31 – A Holland Reads – SPOTLIGHT

September 1 – A Blue Million Books – GUEST POST

September 2 – Back Porchervations – REVIEW

September 3 – Sleuth Cafe – SPOTLIGHT

September 4 – Babs Book Bistro – REVIEW, GUEST POST

September 5 – The Pulp and Mystery Shelf – CHARACTER GUEST POST

September 6 – Cozy Up With Kathy – INTERVIEW

September 7 – Brooke Blogs – CHARACTER GUEST POST

September 8 – Island Confidential – INTERVIEW

September 9 – deal sharing aunt – INTERVIEW

Posted in excerpt, Giveaway, romance, Spotlight on August 29, 2016

The Fall of Lord Drayson

The Fall of Lord Drayson by Rachael Anderson

Synopsis

Who is he really? A high and mighty lord or a lowly servant?

When Colin Cavendish, the new earl of Drayson, informs Lucy Beresford that she and her mother need to vacate the house they’ve called home for the past two years, Lucy is fit to be tied. They have no money, no relations they can turn to for help, and nowhere to go. How dare the earl break the promise his father had made to the Beresfords without so much as a twinge of conscience?

Fate plays her hand when Lucy discovers the earl unconscious and injured in the middle of the road. When he awakens with no recollection of who he is, Lucy seizes the opportunity to teach the earl a much-needed lesson in humility and tells him that he is nothing more than a mere servant. Her servant, in fact.

And thus begins the charming tale of a pompous lord and an impetuous young woman, caught together in a web so tangled that it begs the question: Will they ever get out?

add to goodreads new
amazon

Excerpt

He stared at her incredulously, as though she had escaped Bedlam. “Are you in your right mind, woman?”

Lucy leaned forward and planted her palms on his bed so that her eyes were level with his. “My name is Lucy Beresford. I have lived in Askern all my life. I’m the sole daughter of a vicar and a seamstress who lived most happily despite their differences in station. When my father passed away, I came here, to this dower house. So yes, I am in my right mind. It is you who are not.”

The earl’s jaw clenched, and Lucy took some pleasure at the sight. Perhaps he would come down off his high horse and show at least a small amount of kindness or respect.

“I may not know who I am or where I came from,” he finally said, “but at least I do not feel the need to tell tales.”

“Tell tales?” Lucy gaped at him. Was he accusing her of telling untruths? Her, of all people? What untruths? How dare he!

Lord Drayson glanced down at his fingers, frowning when he spotted grime under his nails. He began to scrape it out as he spoke. “Claiming to be the daughter of a vicar and seamstress is all very romantic, but it cannot possibly be the truth.”

“And why not?” she asked.

His gaze returned to hers. “In my experience, the daughter of a vicar would behave with more decorum, would know how to make a palatable broth, and would never allow herself to be alone in a room with a man who is not her relative. If there is one thing I know with absolute certainty, it is that you are no relation of mine.”

Lucy’s jaw clenched as she fought to control the rage building inside her. Ever so slowly, she pushed herself up to standing and glared down at the earl. “You are correct in thinking I am no ordinary vicar’s daughter. I do not love unconditionally. I show decorum only when I wish to. And I despise those who care for no one but themselves. But I do not tell tales.”

He actually chuckled, but it was more of a scoff than a show of humor. “Did you learn those traits from your father?”

“Do not speak of my father.”

“I would prefer to speak of myself, but you do not seem to share that preference, so perhaps we should speak of your father instead. Where is he, by the by? I would very much like to meet him.”

Lucy’s fingers became fists while her conscience became a battleground between all that was good and evil inside her. It was a short battle, with evil making a quick triumph.

Ever so slowly, her body still trembling with anger, she lifted her chin. If he was going to accuse her of telling tales, then tell them she would. “Very well, Collins. If you must know, I am your employer. And though you may not remember me, or this house, or your position in it, or the fact that you are perfectly susceptible to coming off a horse, just like any other human, I still expect some kindness and respect from you.”

“What on earth are you talking about? What position?”

There was not a hint of hesitation in her voice when she answered. “You are a servant in this house.”

 

RachaelAbout the Author

A USA Today bestselling author, Rachael Anderson is the mother of four and is pretty good at breaking up fights, or at least sending guilty parties to their rooms. She can’t sing, doesn’t dance, and despises tragedies. But she recently figured out how yeast works and can now make homemade bread, which she is really good at eating.

Website

 

 

 

amazon or paypal

$50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Giveaway

Ends 9/18/16

Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Posted in Giveaway, Guest Post, nonfiction, Spotlight, Texas on August 27, 2016

TEXAS IN HER OWN WORDS

(Second Edition)

by

Tweed Scott

Genre: Texas / Texana / General Interest

Publisher: Tejas Publishing

Date of Publication: June 16, 2016

Number of Pages: 336

Scroll down for Giveaway!

synopsis

Tx in her own words cover

Texas in Her Own Words is a peek into the Texas psyche. It explains why Texans are the way they are . . . where all that attitude comes from. This work is the result of a statewide search for what author Tweed Scott calls the “T-Chromosome.” Texans are different but why?  Scott went statewide to find the answers to three basic questions. 1) What makes Texas special? 2) Why is this place so different than anywhere else on the planet? 3) If and when it applied, what does it mean to you personally to BE a native Texan?

Scott shares some remarkable answers with you throughout the book. In the end, he learned that all Texans share four traits or attributes. When you finish this book, you will understand why Texans are the way they are. IF you are a native Texan, chances are you will find some of yourself between the covers of this book. It’s a fun read.

goodreads-badge-add-plus

Amazon * Texas Trading Post * Tejas Publishing

Praise for Texas in Her Own Words

“Searching for the soul of Texas, Tweed Scott has done a great service.  People and places and the cowboy poetry of the heart — Texas in Her Own Words is chockfull of all of these things.  It deserves a special place on your bookshelf. Say right between Larry McMurtry and J. Frank Dobie.” — Kinky Friedman, author and entertainer

“It’s a Texas thing, you either have it, or you don’t.  Few people can define such an emotion, a feeling, a pride that is embedded so deep.  This book made me cry and smile at the same time.  Texas in Her Own Words helps to explain what ‘Lone Star state of mind’ is. . .” — TJ Greaney, Publisher, Countryline Magazine.

“I [Patricia Spork] very highly recommend Texas in Her Own Words (Second Edition) by Tweed Scott to Texas researchers and historians, to any hopeful “wannabe” Texan or to any yee hawin’ boastful Texan, like me (a transplanted didn’t-know-it “wannabe”).”  — Patricia Spork, freelance writer and artist

guest post

The Journey to Marketing My Book

Guest Post by Tweed Scott

I have been blessed throughout my life and career. I may not have made a gazillon dollars but I did get to go places, do things and meet people I could have only dreamed of meeting when I was a kid—and some of those people are now friends. As many people as I met through broadcasting, I met just as many equally wonderful people through my writing.

It didn’t take a lot of thought for me to determine how I wanted to market Texas in Her Own Words. With my extensive broadcast background, I knew what my business model would be. If I could give a speech or presentation and run to the back of the room and sell my books there, it would be a more effective way to market Texas in Her Own Words. That has proven to be what has worked for me. We sold right at 6,000 copies and most of that was face to face marketing.

I started out as a writer who speaks but it wasn’t long before I saw my business model change to a speaker who writes. I love the model. People pay me to speak but then I get to sell Texas in Her Own Words in the back of the room too. I LOVE that business model.

about the author

Tweed ScottTweed Scott is a laugh-out-loud funny motivational speaker and corporate entertainer. He retired from broadcasting after 31 years. His broadcasting accomplishments include operating the highest rated FM station in America and later the 5th highest rated AM station in America. Tweed is an award winning speaker and the author of the three-time national award-winning book, Texas in Her Own Words. His book is sold at the Alamo, the state capitol gifts shops in Austin, the San Jacinto Museum & Battleground, and the Sam Houston Statue & Visitor’s Center in Huntsville.

He is the past president of the board for the Writers’ League of Texas serving some 1,300 members. Tweed now writes for several magazines and has built his own writing and speaking company, Tejas Publishing, LLC.  He is a graduate of Lamar University and a US Navy veteran. He continues to write and spread what he calls, “The Gospel of Texas.”

Facebook * TwitterWebsite

 ————————————— 

ENTER TO WIN ONE OF THREE SIGNED COPIES! 
(US ONLY)

August 22 – September 5, 2016 

Giveaway Image TIHOW

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Check out the other blogs on this tour

8/22 Guest Post 1 Margie’s Must Reads
8/23 Review Country Girl Bookaholic
8/24 Author Interview 1 My Book Fix Blog
8/25 Excerpt 1 Kara The Redhead
8/26 Review Chapter Break Book Blog
8/27 Guest Post 2 StoreyBook Reviews
8/28 Promo A Novel Reality
8/29 Review Forgotten Winds
8/30 Excerpt 2 The Page Unbound
8/31 Tweed’s Scrapbook Missus Gonzo
9/1 Review Book Chase
9/2 Author Interview 2 It’s a Jenn World
9/3 Review Reading By Moonlight
9/4 Promo Blogging for the Love of Authors and Their Books
9/5 Review The Librarian Talks

lone star lit life

Blog tour services provided by

lone star book blog tours

Posted in Cozy, Florida, Giveaway, mystery, Spotlight on August 27, 2016

cracked to death large banner640

CRACKED TO DEATH

Cracked to Death (A Webb’s Glass Shop Mystery)
Cozy Mystery
3rd in Series
Mass Market Paperback: 320 pages
Publisher: Kensington (June 28, 2016)
ISBN-13: 978-1617737640

Synopsis

When a treasure hunt leads to deadly plunder, it’s up to glass shop owner Savannah Webb and her trusty investigative posse to map out the true motives of a killer . . .

It’s the dog days of summer in St. Petersburg, Florida, and Webb’s Glass Shop proprietor Savannah Webb has an eco-friendly plan to help locals escape the heat–a recyclable bottle-crafting workshop taught by reticent store manager Amanda Blake. Turns out, the class is a bigger smash than expected, thanks in part to a pair of staggeringly old bottles brought in by snorkeler Martin Lane . . .

Linked to a storied pirate shipwreck, the relics definitely pique Savannah’s interest. But intrigue turns to shock when Martin’s lifeless body washes ashore the next morning, another glass artifact tucked in his dive bag. With cell phone records connecting Amanda to the drowning, Savannah must voyage through unchartered territory to exonerate her colleague and capture the twisted criminal behind Martin’s death . . .

goodreads-badge-add-plus

amazon buybn buy

Indiebound

Praise

I found the mystery interesting and liked the slow unraveling. It’s not that the pace or the mystery itself is slow but more that as readers we start out knowing almost nothing so there’s so much to learn and figure out. ~I Wish I Lived In a Library

As always, Ms. Hollon has written as excellent mystery. Detailed, riveting, and a hard one to guess! I was happily stumped all the way to the reveal. ~Lisa K’s Book Reviews

About the Author

CHERYL HOLLENCheryl Hollen now writes full-time after she left an engineering career of designing and building military flight simulators in amazing countries such as England, Wales, Australia, Singapore, Taiwan, and India. Fulfilling the dream of a lifetime, she combines her love of writing with a passion for creating glass art. In the small glass studio behind her house in St. Petersburg, Florida, Cheryl and her husband design, create, and produce fused glass, stained glass, and painted glass artworks.

WebsiteFacebook * Twitter

 

 

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

great escape button160

 

Check out these other participating blogs

August 1 – Pulp and Mystery Shelf – SPOTLIGHT

August 2 – Mallory Heart’s Cozies – REVIEW

August 3 – A Holland Reads – SPOTLIGHT

August 5 – Brooke Blogs – SPOTLIGHT

August 6 – Shelley’s Book Case – REVIEW

August 8 – I Wish I Lived in a Library – REVIEW

August 9 – Lisa Ks Book Reviews – REVIEW

August 10 – Island Confidential – SPOTLIGHT

August 11 – Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

August 12 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – SPOTLIGHT

August 13 – A Blue Million Books – SPOTLIGHT

August 15 – MysteriesEtc – REVIEW

August 17 – Sleuth Cafe – REVIEW

August 19 – Celticlady’s Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

August 20 – 3 Partners in Shopping, Nana, Mommy, &, Sissy, Too! – SPOTLIGHT

August 22 – Back Porchervations – REVIEW

August 23 – Kaisy Daisy’s Corner – REVIEW

August 24 – Queen of All She Reads – REVIEW – Coming Soon!

August 25 – Author Annette Drake’s blog – SPOTLIGHT

August 26 – Community Bookstop – REVIEW

August 27 – StoreyBook Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

August 28 – Laura’s Interests – SPOTLIGHT

August 29 – The Girl with Book Lungs – REVIEW

August 30 – The Book’s the Thing – REVIEW

August 31 – A Chick Who Reads – REVIEW

Posted in Giveaway, Kindle, Review, romance on August 26, 2016

UntilSummerEnds

 

Synopsis

Sophie Newton is determined to prove herself to her father, who insists she could never run a successful business. She opens a beachside taco stand called The Sandy Tortilla and plans to make her own way, one burrito at a time.

When she loses her summer help, Sophie rushes to find somebody to help take orders. She finds that somebody in Montgomery Winters, a struggling actor from LA. Mont takes the job; the money’s useful, though he finds that his curvy boss is what really keeps him around.

As Sophie and Mont work together, they discover an intense attraction between them. But when Mont’s agent calls him about a career-making audition, he decides he must pursue the opportunity, even though he can’t get Sophie out of his head. Now, Sophie must choose between chasing after the man she’s falling in love with and the business she’s fought so hard to build.

goodreads-badge-add-plus

Amazon * B&N * iTunes

Review

This was an enjoyable read, and it was clean too! Sophie is a woman with issues from her past that impede her present. While I know many people have a past and sometimes those issues cloud their judgement, I wanted to ask her what she was thinking about running away at various times throughout the book. We all have to deal with our past, but Sophie kept running away.

Mont is the hunky man in the picture, but don’t be fooled, he has his own issues too including running from his past (including his name) and trying to find his path in life.

Despite the baggage they both bring to the table, I enjoyed their slower paced relationship with its ups and downs. It made them seem more down to earth and approachable. While Mont may be an actor seeking the role of a lifetime, he was no different than anyone else.

I thought the name of Sophie’s food stand was ingenious – The Sandy Tortilla – because it was on the beach and served Mexican food. I’m always impressed by food trucks/stands and what they can accomplish in such a small space.

Overall a great read!  We give it 4 paws up.

pawprintpawprintpawprintpawprint

About the Author

Elana JohnsonElana’s work includes the young adult dystopian romance seriesPossession, Surrender, Abandon, and Regret, published by Simon Pulse (Simon & Schuster). Her popular ebook, From the Query to the Call, is also available, as well as a young adult dystopian short story in the Possession world, Resist.

Her newest release is the beginning of a new adult fantasy series. ECHOES OF SILENCE came out with Amazon Publishing on May 3, 2016. See all of her books here.

Elana also writes inspirational western romances under the pen name Liz Isaacson. Check out all 5 books in the Amazon #1 Bestselling Three Rivers Ranch Romance series, and get ready for the rest of the series by the end of 2016.

Her newest release is UNTIL SUMMER ENDS, a contemporary romance novel from Cleis Press/Start Media.

Blog * Website * Facebook * Twitter * Goodreads * Join her romance-only newsletter (get a free novella when you do!)

Giveaway

Elana is giving away a Kindle Paperwhite

Visit her site to enter to win!

Save

Posted in 4 1/2 paws, fiction, Review, suspense on August 25, 2016

The House of Kane

Synopsis

Aislinn Marchánt, a writer and editorial consultant, is hired by the major New York publishing company, Kane Publishing House, to help determine why several submissions sent to them have mysteriously disappeared only to be published later by another publisher. Are the editors at Kane simply not being diligent enough with the in-coming material, or is there something more sinister going on? Working from her West Palm Beach home, Aislinn quickly becomes involved with the House of Kane as well as with Caldwell Kane, the man who hired her.

As Aislinn works toward uncovering the various layers of truth of her former husband, her elderly neighbor, and Kane Publishing House, she continues to research her own novel, the story of a love between two people that becomes fractured because of the misunderstandings created by two different cultures. Her research takes her to abotanica where a Santerian priest reveals the truth in her own life and a destiny that is joined to that of Caldwell Kane.

goodreads-badge-add-plus

amazon buybn buy

Praise for The House of Kane

Simultaneously wise and poignant, exotic and suspenseful, House of Kane is a fascinating story of loyalty, treachery and the power of destiny. With an insider’s view into the world of high stakes publishing, Barbara Casey weaves a masterful story that haunts the reader long after the final page.  – Nancy Steinbeck, Author of The Other Side of Eden: Life with John Steinbeck

Barbara Casey’s House of Kane is a touchingly tender love story, set in an intrigue-riddled publishing industry. Her characters are interesting and varied. Her story is refreshing and engagingly told. Aspiring writers will want to read House of Kane to tap her wisdom about getting into print. – John DeDakis, Former CNN Senior Copy Editor, Author of Fast Track

Review

What a tale for readers as it is woven with the publishing industry.

Aislinn is a talented writer/editor and knows what will sell books, that is why she is sought out by many aspiring authors. I liked how her character was kind about her suggested rewrites and how many authors took it to heart and realized that their book was going to be so much better with those changes.

Caldwell Kane is the owner of a publishing house, yet books that were submitted to them are being published by a rival house. How is this happening? He asks Aislinn for her help in getting to the bottom of this mystery. But he doesn’t expect to fall in love with her along the way.

The book has many twists and turns, mystery and romance, deceit and truth. There are many bible quotes in the book so I’m not sure if it is meant to fall somewhere in the Christian book genre.

The characters are all well developed and each one brings depth to the book. Lottie, the next door neighbor, that lost her forbidden love when she was 16. It has haunted her all these years and writing a book about her father was very cathartic for her. Richard, Aislinn’s ex-husband, is still in love with her but realizes that his life as a doctor was all encompassing and didn’t leave much time for his home life and Aislinn. It takes a medical issue for him to understand what he has lost. Charles, a homeless vet that has some mental issues, but has a support system around him that helps him out however they can without infringing on his pride.

There are characters that learn some life lessons too, but you have to read the book to find out!

One thing I didn’t really understand was the story line of Margaret Peters – I’m not sure this added much to the book, but perhaps others will think differently. There is another character that just disappears at the end (can’t reveal too much!) but it would have been nice to see that story line resolved.

Overall though, a very good book and we give it 4 1/2 paws up.

pawprintpawprintpawprintpawprinthalfpaw

About the Author

Barbara CaseyBarbara Casey is a partner in Strategic Media Books, and president of the Barbara Casey Agency, representing authors throughout the United States, Great Britain, Canada, and Japan. She is also a manuscript consultant and the author of numerous articles, poems, and short stories.

Her award-winning novels have received national recognition, including the Independent Publishers Book Award. Her novel, The House of Kane, was considered for a Pulitzer nomination, and The Gospel According to Prissy, also a contemporary adult novel received several awards including the prestigious IPPY Award for Best Regional Fiction. Her most recent young adult novel, The Cadence of Gypsies, received the Independent Publishers Living Now Award and was reviewed by the Smithsonian for its list of Best Books.

Ms. Casey makes her home on the top of a mountain in northwest Georgia with her husband and three dogs who adopted her: Benton, a hound-mix, Fitz, a miniature dachshund, and Gert, a Jack Russel terrier of sorts.

Website

Giveaway

Win one of three copies of The House of Kane (choice of print or ebook). One winner will also receive a $25 Amazon gift card (open internationally)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

iRead Button small

Posted in Book Release, mystery, Spotlight, Thriller on August 25, 2016

TheDevilsAnalyst banner

The Devils Analyst

Mystery, Thriller, Crime
Date Published: 08/11/2016

Synopsis

Danny Lahti had it all: fame, fortune, friends, love – and an obsessed stalker.

Obsession can be a powerful curse. What happens when you think your world is perfect, but someone behind the scenes is determined to test you in every way possible? As the clock ticks toward the year 2000, Danny’s world starts unraveling without explanation. An unknown hacker unleashes a digital attach on his Internet company just months before its public debut. A prowler attempts to break into his historic mansion which houses, according to Hollywood rumor, secret vaults. A long-time friend goes missing. Is it all coincidence, or are these just the first feats by a crazed admirer determined to force the truth from Danny?

And what is the truth? The complicated days that follow force Danny to have another look at his own relationships, misdeeds, and damaged past. But will he ever learn the lesson that will satisfy the devil who taunts him?

goodreads-badge-add-plus

amazon buy

Excerpt

Chapter One

Midnight

Twenty minutes to midnight, and the ice on the frozen lake outside cracked. The loud reverberations of winter echoed through the night and invaded Danny Lahti’s peace.

Danny was prepared to let time move forward in whatever incremental way it chose. At that moment . . . sitting on a sofa in an enormous room near midnight . . . huddled within a century-old hunting lodge of a long-dead lumber tycoon . . . on the shoreline of a lake nearly forgotten in the isolated woods of northern Wisconsin, Danny Lahti was not concerned about the potential for a technological apocalypse as time turned to the year 2000.

But he did feel on the brink. Something was about to happen. Things should change; they needed to change. He couldn’t really say why. Danny never felt he was the introspective type. But he had always felt connected to a larger universe, one in which he received premonitions of what was to come.

The end of the century. Or maybe the start of a new millennium. It depended on the pundit. But computers only knew what they were programmed to know, and they weren’t programmed to deal with changing from 1999 to 2000. Maybe early computer scientists never thought about a century starting anew. December 31, 1999 could prove an existential threat. They called it “Y2K.” Who knows, maybe every generation deserved its opportunity to restart the clock.

For Danny, his past was too painful, but the future felt too uncertain. In a way, his life could be the snowdrift-covered lawns that surrounded this house. On the surface, the drifts were unblemished and glistening in the weak moonlight. But beneath their surface, under the shapeless accumulated flakes, were the remains of years of living. If Danny had the time and the tools and the energy, he could shovel his way into discovering the dead flowerbeds, the abandoned lawn furniture, and the century’s worth of trails across the grounds. But who could be bothered? Eventually, the warm sun of spring would surely melt the snow. Just wait. The past would be exposed.

Danny had always been the kind of person willing to wait. When he was only twelve, his mother committed suicide and he found her dead body. He waited then, always expecting someone would eventually arrive to explain what had happened and why. When his father withdrew into a hermit-like life that barely acknowledged his adolescent son’s existence, Danny still waited. Someone would surely make his father forget his dead wife and remember his child. He was still waiting.

And when Josh came into his life, promising an escape from these cold woods into the warm, loving life of the Los Angeles sun, Danny followed and waited for Josh’s direction.

He waited. He always had. Perhaps he always would. It was his nature not to rebel and not to question, to try to be good and not rock the boat. A new year, a new century, a new millennium, not even “Y2K” could change that. Because Danny Lahti had never been able to find the energy to grab the reins of his own life. And he didn’t intend to start now. And yet something was changing. He felt it.

The ice cracked again. Nineteen minutes to midnight.

About the Author

Dennis FrahmannDennis Frahmann is a former journalist and marketer,who now resides in Cambria, CA.

He is the author of two other novels: Tales from the Loon Town Cafe and The Finnish Girl.

WebsiteTwitterFacebook

Copyright 2016 ©  Storeybook Reviews